Experiment to Regrow Kale Part 2 - An Update

in #homesteading7 years ago

Experiment to Regrow Kale - Part 2, an update

A little more than 2 weeks ago I posted part 1 of my experiment to regrow store bought Kale, you can read it here.

Today is a quick update on the progress and a comparison of the two regrowing methods I was testing. After sprouting roots in jars of water, I transplanted one bunch into my raised planter box, while the other was kept in the jar of water with a small amount of soil added into the mixture.

Straight Soil vs Water & Soil mixture

It didn't take long for the one transplanted into soil to be established, and you can see in this first photo that it's looking quite healthy for a young Kale plant.

On the other hand, the one I kept in the jar in a part water part soil mixture didn't do too well. It didn't take long for the water and soil mixture to smell funky (not the good kind of funky either).

To avoid the smelly water I probably could have changed the water, but in the end I decided to transplant this one to the soil as well. Unfortunately, after a few days, the leaves on this second plant became soft and droopy, and overall the plant didn't look like it was doing so well.

So there you go, if after the Kale stem has grown roots, it's best to transplant straight to soil.

Stay tuned for more updates on how this remaining regrown Kale develops!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75