A BABY JACOB'S SHEEP RAM WAS BORN ON OUR HOMESTEAD! - THAT HAPPENED QUICKLY

in #homesteading6 years ago

That's almost like buying some crypto, going to bed, waking up in the morning, and it's increased in value already!


We knew that some of the ewes that we picked up yesterday were already pregnant. Also, we had one little lamb with us already when we picked them up. We put the little lamb, its mama, and a few other ewes in a pen with a shelter. The two rams and five other ewes went out to pasture. This morning, when we drove by, it looked like the lamb was in the pasture. Now it could have snuck out and ran over there, but Pinkie-Pepper suggested that maybe another ewe gave birth. Sure enough, she was right!

THE VIDEO THAT I IMMEDIATELY SHOT

HERE IS THE FAMILY!

Sure enough, Pinkie-Pepper was right. Another ewe had a baby. The first one (that we brought home with us) was a little girl, but this one is a little boy. He looks to be cute, healthy, and happy with his mama.

You can see here the immediate care that his mama has for him. At first we thought maybe we had put that other lamb in with the wrong ewe, but thankfully that was not the case. Also, it is a good thing that she waited until she got to our homestead to birth this little one. If he had been born in the horse trailer that we used to transport them, he most certainly would have been stepped on along the way and probably crushed to death. That is why the other lamb rode home with us in the truck and was reunited with its mama when we got here.

If you noticed that curly four-horned beast in the back-left of this group photo, I'm guessing that is his dad. I have my reasons, but since we only have two rams in our flock, well, three now, I'm guessing that it is the big guy. Most likely a lot of the other younger ewes are his daughters too.

The four-horned ram right behind our little in this photo is the other ram, and I think that they have the same mother. Most likely they also have the same father too. While watching the flock, this young ram stays close to the one who just gave birth. If that is the case, then she would have had him last year. That said, those horns probably are only a year old too. Who knows where they will grow from here.

Here is a closer look at the other ram, who is probably this little guy's big brother. I like the look of these sheep anyway, but to have all of those crazy horns growing in all directions almost makes them look like big, fat dreadlocks. They certainly do have a certain look to them.

Here is a close up of mama. She has two horns, and some beautiful blue eyes. It looks like the little ram has blue eyes too. That makes these interesting sheep even more interesting, don't you think. Now we've got thirteen of these Jacob's sheep for our investment of $1100 USD, which is an incredible deal. Most likely, there will be more lambs on the way. I tell you, it's always something exciting around here! What a blessing!

A FEW MORE PHOTOS FOR FUN

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-baby-ram

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

The little fella sure know to how pose for a photo! :-)

He did do a good job!

SO CUTE. And @stinawog asked just as you wondered aloud in the video about the coloration.

We will see. I guess there is only one way to find out... besides looking it up on google.

No spoilers! We'll just have to wait and see as the movie that is this lamb's life plays out.

Yeah, that's what I was planning!

Those 4 horns are pretty crazy, too! I've never seen a Jacob's sheep before, I guess. I kinda thought horns on all animals came in at most 2!

That's nice, congrats
When are you doing naming ceremony for the sheep?
What I really love about your posts are the way you arrange them, trying to learn from you and I think I'm almost there, I just dropped a new one, very soon I'll be as good as you are

I am not sure about a name, but I was thinking "Dave RAMsey."

Can I make a suggestion?
What about mayor?

Sure, you can make a suggestion!

That they are! The first (of hopefully many) to be born on our homestead!

wow they look amazing love them all, but the small one looks really gorgeous.

Yeah, there is something about the tiny ones, isn't there?

They are so cute. And you made your analysis that the ram with the four horn is the father. (lol). Mothers will be mothers everywhere. Already cleaning up the little ram. Beautiful family. Mother, father, brother...

Yeah, their family dynamics seem to be pretty obvious.

HI,
I'm sumon(Bangladeshi)

I wish to work with you Steemit
I follow you, you too
I upvote you, please you too
You voted me
Inshallah I will return you
every day of your daily voting
Trust me

Please joni our FB group:..
https://web.facebook.com/groups/SteemiTLoversDinajpur/

Thank you

I do not do facebook.

The lamb was really cute and funny, I really like it

Cool, glad to hear it!

i think they are confused !
they still doubt who is the father

dont forget to invite me on his birthday party

LOL - I won't! We will be having cake and ice cream!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70