DO NOT MAKE PIRATE SHEEP - THE IMPORTANCE OF MONITORING HORN GROWTH IN LIVESTOCK

in #homesteading6 years ago

This was a close call.


I share this just to be honest and hopefully help others. It's obviously not an attempt at making me look impressive. Take it for what it's worth.

PIRATE SHEEP VLOG

A CLOSE CALL

Thankfully, this turned out alright. About two weeks back, I noticed that the horns on Buckington, our Shetland/Finnsheep ram, were growing closer to his head. I figured I'd have to keep a close eye on the growth. In just about a week, I missed it and the horn grew right into his head. His eye had gotten cloudy and it looked infected. I was amazed at how quickly it happened.

With animals like these, which live out in a pasture, we have less interaction. They eat what grows and as long as they have water, they are fine. Though I was trying to monitor this ram, the actually event happened quicker than I thought it would, and I missed the opportunity to prevent this issue. I even thought that this ram would end up blind. It's not that I'm against trimming horns on the livestock, it's just that if I don't have to, I might as well not.

Thankfully, once I trimmed the horns on Buckington, it only took a few days for his eye to uncloud. At this point, his vision is even fully restored. For a while, when you shined a flashlight at him, only one eye would light up. Now, both eyes shine. I share this story with the hope that it helps others keep a close eye on their livestock. Apparently horns on animals can growing very rapidly, so you've got to monitor them closely. Thankfully, I caught this issue before too much harm was done, and in the end the eye was restored.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-a-close-call-and-an-eye-being-restored

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

If he was a wild animal,
what would happen?
Can nature fix the issue?
Good job by the way to stay put and take care
of your livestock.

Good question! I'm not sure. Perhaps ones with genetics like this would just die and those without such issues would be able to reproduce then.

sometimes you gotta take the ram by the horns

Wow! This is perfect.
I love the fact that the over grown horn was finally trimed to restore the good vision of the buckington.
I have really learnt from this post here.
You are really doing a wonderful job here sir.
I remain loyal under your mentorship sir.
Nice and educative

Yeah, I'm glad that I caught it in time!

So glad that had a happy ending! You said you used a saw to trim the horns. Is there a horn trimmer for these kinds of things? Something that might make the job easier?

Oh, the saw was real quick and easy. It was a small one.

Sir this disruption is very critical for the sheeps like this but thank God you found it and cute before it's gone critical, I had a buffalo (Murra breed) in my village who faced this problem actually the horn twisted and started piercing in her own head and this damage her head and very critical condition we face but finally we trim her horn with the help of doc and saved her life but it's was very painful for her and me too.
Thanks sir this information will definitely help a lot of cattle lovers and they will keep close eyes on their livestocks.
Good day.

Thanks for the encouragement. Times like this can be hard, but I'm glad that it worked out!

Thanks sir for your reply.

Well, that was refreshing. My husband and I are working towards homesteading. Part of my reason for joining Steemit is the amazing amount of homesteading knowledge to be found. And I find tons of great stuff! But it always looks like everyone's got it all figured out, and it takes me so long to get comfortable with new skills. Sometimes it makes me think I might not be cut out for it. But occasionally I come across a what-not-to-do, and not only do I learn something from it, it's also a confidence boost because it reminds me that even successful homesteaders make mistakes and that learning never ends. It reminds me that I don't have to know it all before I get there. Thanks!

That's right! Learn from our mistakes ahead of time and avoid your own!

does it get new horns every year or they stay for life with sheep?

Antlers, like deer, moose, and elk have, fall off and regrow every year. Horns, like goats, cows, and sheep have continue to grow all life long.

I guess it has to live without horns for the rest of its life

Just the tips, the photos show how it looks now, with the majority of its horns still attached. I only trimmed off about an inch.

hopefully soon i see true sheep, coz now i see always a picture

Hopefully soon i
See true sheep, coz now i see
Always a picture

                 - blaogao


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Good Call @papa-pepper and way to make sure his sight was saved. I like your hands on way of handling your livestock. You can never be to cautious, your animals depend on you...................

That's right! Animal husbandry is a serious thing! Their lives are on the line!

That is crazy! I get it though. With all there is to do on a homestead, it's easy to overlook certain things. I had a dog that would hang out with us during the day, but sleep with the goats at night and one day I noticed her limping. Turns out she had foxtails in her paws. Not only that, but they were in between her toes on all 4 paws, in her tail and both of her haunches. It took some time to get her to calm down because she was in a lot of pain. I felt so bad because it had happened over the course of a week and I hadn't noticed until it affected her walk. From then on, it became part of my nightly routine to put the kids to bed, then strap on a headlamp and my trusty revolver and head out to the pasture with a pair of tweezers to check her for foxtails. Thos first few nights I spend an hour with her. I had to go really slow, but after a while she came to become more used to it and almost seemed like she enjoyed it. Anyway, glad his eye is fine. Good work Papa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73