HARVESTING OUR FIRST SUNCHOKES EVER

in #homesteading5 years ago

I am so glad that we planted these!


After planting these Sunchokes (AKA Jerusalem Artichokes) only about six months ago, the time to harvest them has come. I had heard that you could get a 10X harvest on these, so I was eager to dig into the soil and see what was going on.

Before we got started, this is what the patch of Sunchokes looked like. It's a roughly six foot by six foot section, with approximately thirteen plants in it. The tops had already been chopped down and fed to the sheep and goats, so now we just had to dig up our portion of the plant, AKA "buried treasure." Having only heard about how production the Jerusalem Artichoke was, I did not exactly what to expect, but I was excited to find out.

As we began to dig, we noticed two things. First, many tubers were to be found right at the root cluster. This was actually what I was expecting. The second thing I did not realize, but it made a lot of sense once I noticed it. Little roots were also shooting off in all directions, with a tuber at the end of them as well. This is the main way that the Sunchokes spread, by sneaking the beginnings of the next generation under the soil into uncharted territory.

Compared to digging up carrots or potatoes, this was a lot more like a game of "hide and seek," which was fun for both my boy and myself. The spreading tubers is one reason that many will consider these plants to be invasive, so be careful where you plant them.

If you'll notice how many of the border stones have been moved, then you'll realize how far some of the tubers were running underground. While we tried to track down most of them, we most likely missed at least a few. This bed has also already been replanted with some tubers for next year, so everything else is "profit!"

Here is a look at our big haul! It's great to get such a big return on our initial investment, and it looks like we may never have to buy them again! If we continue to save some to plant for the following years, we should be able to enjoy these for decades to come! Also, it makes me excited to finish our root cellar so we can store things like this down in there. For the rest of the story and project, check out the video!

"HARVESTING OUR FIRST SUNCHOKES EVER" VIDEO

PREVIOUS SUNCHOKE VIDEOS PLUS A BONUS

Here are two of our previous videos about the Jerusalem Artichoke plus my advice video for new gardeners. The first one is from about six months ago when we planted the original tubers. The second one is when I was trimming back the flower and feeding them to the sheep and goats. The final one is just the best advice I could come up with to inspire the next generation of gardeners. Enjoy!

PLANTING JERUSALEM ARTICHOKES


PREVENTING THE SUNCHOKES FROM GOING TO SEED


MY BEST ADVICE TO START GARDENING

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-amazing-sunchoke-harvest

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I also planted mine for the first time this year. But it was just 4 bulb and I planted late. So I'm just overwintering them this year. I planted them in a far off spot. Only watered them at the start. And let them compete with the weeds. They grow great. Only bug that bothered them was grasshopper. But the damage was nothing to be concerned about. The Japanese beetles don't touch them, unlike everything else. So far I'm impress.

That's a heck of a harvest!!! Very nice. I've heard these get super tall, so I'm considering planting them along our fence line. We're "not allowed" (not that that stops me from having chickens...) to have a fence over 6 feet without a permit. Doesn't say I can't have food-producing, bee-attracting flowers over 6 feet tall :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I love sunchokes a lot. They are so easy to grow!! And I love the taste!

We havent grown any in Michigan though! So glad you had a successful harvest!!

Peace

That's a pretty good crop, enjoy them all. :D
God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

It sure is! Lots and lots of food for the family!

You are a very good example for your children and they're learning so much from your great examples on how to grow/protect harvests from your land and to prepare for not just today and tomorrow but years and years of quality food for their future families as well. :D
I've never seen sunchokes before, what do they taste like? :D

Absolutely delicious - they make a fabulous soup,!🦋🌈🌴💛🍀

Wow! Ive heard great things about sunchokes, and it's been on my long list of things to try at 'some point'. Ill have to get off my rump and plant some in the spring! Thanks for reminding me!!

Yeah, I finally crossed them off of my "to do" list this year and moved them to my "did" list!

Great! That sure is satisfying to get things on the 'did' list!

wow this is amazing and beautiful work, you grow delicious looking food and what fun for the babies! thank you for my package i got it! woohooooo ... you are so kind and generous and i my heart is full bro bro..

so many blessings to you and yours,
eagle spirit

That's a good harvest! Congrats. It's another step closer to being self-sufficient.

I like how the goat in the background was jumping up on the fence. I think he wanted to come help you dig. :)

Oh yeah, every bit helps, and I love how they keep producing on their own!

That's a heck of a harvest!!! Very nice. I've heard these get super tall, so I'm considering planting them along our fence line. We're "not allowed" (not that that stops me from having chickens...) to have a fence over 6 feet without a permit. Doesn't say I can't have food-producing, bee-attracting flowers over 6 feet tall :)

Posted using Partiko Android

The joys of the harvest are the best, knowing all the hard work of planting and tending that has gone behind it.

A fabulous crop, enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62