OUR PREGNANT ANGORA DOE

in #homesteading6 years ago

This was another "offer I couldn't refuse," so I didn't.


If you saw my recent post about picking up a flock of Jacob's Sheep, you may have heard that there were also some Angora Goats at the place that we got the sheep. Although I went up there for sheep, sheep are not the only thing that I brought back with me.

A BONUS GOAT

The sheep in the photo above were my goal, but if you look closely on the right side, you will also see the goat. I've always been interested in Jacob's Sheep ever since I heard of them, and when I was able to pick up a flock for less than $100 USD each, I jumped at the opportunity. The flock does not have the best genetics at the moment, but I plan on switching to a new sire and building up the flock from there.

Interestingly enough, the man also had a nice herd of Angora Goats, and was letting them go for $100 USD each too. Even though I was not looking for goats, I would have bought them all if I was already established and had a house built. Still, for only $100 each, I asked a few questions and was able to get a pregnant female. This opens up some interesting possibilities for us.

ALMOST ENDLESS POSSIBILITIES

There are quite a few different ways that this could go, and at the moment I have no idea how it will work out. For one thing, these goats are commonly raised for their mohair which can be shorn twice a year and made into yarn. Our girls are planning on learning how to spin this spring anyway, so that is a pretty cool possibility. Besides the wool from our own sheep, we can now also shear our goat.

Another possibility is based upon exactly what she gives birth to. It is not uncommon for goats to have twins, but she is at least pregnant with something. If, perhaps, she has twins and one is a male and one is a female, then we have a pretty cool opportunity. I could ask around at that point and see if there was someone else with Angora Goats who would trade me a male for a male. In that case, I could get an unrelated male to breed this doe and eventually any daughters that she had too. At that point, I could begin raising up a herd of Angora Goats.

One different option is to potentially use this goat in a trade too. At some point I want to get a new ram to sire our flock of Jacob's Sheep. There are a few main reasons that I will share about later, but this goat could help in the process. Some people who keep Jacob's Sheep use them for spinning wool. If that was the case, perhaps they would want to trade one of their males for this pregnant female, which can also be used to harvest fiber for spinning. I've got a lead on some spinners nearby who have Jacob's Sheep, so we will see.

In the end, it was just too good of a deal to pass on. This was one cheap purebred doe to begin with, and the fact that she is pregnant just sweetens the deal. While we are not sure what will happen with her moving forward, we are glad to have met her and glad that she can be here on our homestead for now. We will see what the future holds for her, and we will keep you posted!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pregnant-angora-doe

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Good evening papa,
I think you are one of the luckiest guys i have come across, maybe i should say favored if you think about it, but anyway am also glad you were able to make the deal happen , congrats.

I am truly blessed, and for that I am forever grateful and thankful. Thank you!

I think I am happy to see goats everyday. More happy I don't see snake. Goat milk is my favorite. I am on my second quart.
Taste really good with raisin bran.
Keep on steemin'

Soon I'll be posting about snakes again.... soon.

Nice deal brother! Don't forget to put me down for a four pack of them shofars. Good talking with you the other day. See you soon !!!

Wow, this is great. You and your family are really doing great job with the animals. I'm happy for pregnant goat. Please keep us posted.

Thank you! We like her, and I named her "Bonus!"

When she is in labour....i will like to attend to her 🤓
@Papa-pepper the wisest of men I have encountered so far.
Love the passion he has......he really portrays what is known as "contentment" and a fulfilled life.

Lol, thank you my friend.

Am happy you got a pregnant goat sir.
It'll be a bonus to your remarkable flock.

Thank you! It is a bonus!

This is so great Sir. I'm also as expectant as you are about what we become of her considering her present state of pregnancy

Welcome angora-doe to steemit. Nice to meet you and your to be kid.... 😄

LOL - Hopefully soon enough that kid (or kids) will be out!

Nice breed. I wish the goat safe delivery. She's adding to the number of animals you have. Well done sir

Yeah, the number of animals that we have keeps growing.

This is good to read. The Andora doe will surely perform well. Nice update

sheep are very beautiful friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80