TESTING THE MILKING STAND FOR HOOF TRIMMING

in #homesteading6 years ago

This was a good idea for two reasons!


First off, we like to get the most out of our projects. If this "milking stand" can also work for trimming hooves and shearing sheep, then it'll come in three times as handy. Additionally, Daisy was never really that people friendly, so we hadn't checked her hooves yet. It had been on the to do list, and since she was warming up to us with the milking process anyway, we thought it was about time to give her a pedicure.

THE TEST DRIVE!

After some suggestions from other steemians were received, I decided that I would test out a few other methods for trimming hooves besides the razor blade that I used last time. While I will also be testing out some tools specifically designed for the task, I wanted to try these scissors that I found. I got a good deal on them and I figured that they could do the job.

With Monster Truck the Pepper offering some feed to snack on, I was able to get to work. Giving Daisy a tasty treat while we work with her encourages her to have a good attitude and it also gives her something to do and to distract her a bit.

Personally, I think that these scissors did a great job, Daisy took it well, and the stand worked very good too! It'll be a while before she needs another trim, but she sure needed this one. We've got some other interesting goat news to share soon enough, but I'll need to take some photos first. Here are some other photos from this effort, and I think that they speak for themselves. We all enjoy interacting with these animals on a daily basis, and the @little-peppers are learning a lot of responsibility.

MORE HOOF TRIMMING PHOTOS!

Photos courtesy of Pinkie-Pepper!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-trimming

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Jack of all trades.
You take good care of your belongings, no exceptions.
Good riddance no wonder your reputation is shooting to the stars.
Keep on steemin'

Nice animal husbandry skills...

Thank you. We're learning.

Do you just post the I'm Papa Pepper and here's my proof to prove that those are actually your pictures? I get the whole "Don't plagiarize" thing, but is there a story behind this? Did somebody accuse you of plagiarizing or do you just do it for "good form?"

Good job @papa-pepper ..when you can give the best for animal ..I think you are a good man dan wiseman...I like you ..success forever.

@ papa-pepper at it again, always up to something creative. You rock! Love ur energy

Yup, we are always up to something! Thanks!

I have the slightly smaller version of those same scissors from the same brand and I have had them for years and they are awesome, I use them around the house and take them hunting, the tool steel is good for a magnesium striker too.

Very cool! This was the first time that I had seen that kind of scissors, but I had to stop and buy!

I made a little sheath for mine so I could put them in my pocket and backpack.

Please Upvote me! I followed u and upvote you by the way :) Nice blog!

Wow, you did a good job, sir, thank you for sharing the info. The milking stand is very useful not just for milking but in cutting goat hooves.

Yup! Soon we can try it for shearing sheep too!

Milk stand is very useful Sir, and you are so creative for using it not only for milking :)

a good goat my friend .. I also have a goat my friend.IMG20180113141014.jpgIMG20180113141014.jpg

I like your friend!

thanks for my good friend .. please help me upvote friend have one friend ya

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59