So excited to get more dirt!

in #homesteading6 years ago

This drive's my wife nuts, but I love getting free dirt!

IMG_6811.JPG

I've been doing quite a bit of work in my yard, reclaiming some bush and trying to level the yard just right and fill in some low spots.

Here's a bit of a panorama of the yard!

And he's what it looked like when I bought it.

Hard to believe but that small cops of poplar trees on the right of this photo is the same one in panorama.

So this is where all the dirt comes in. I've had a sign at the highway/my drive saying clean fill wanted and get the occasional call. A few years ago they were doing some serious road work just out front of the house and replacing all the old wooden culverts with more modern ones. So while they did that, I would say I must have got around 200 full tri-axle loads of fill and they even spread the vast majority of it in the yard.

The only problem with this was it was mostly clay and gravel, which certainly packed great, but not the greatest for planting anything in.

So far this year the couple loads I've gotten haven't been that exciting.

IMG_6809.JPG

I even got caught with these huge rocks that someone snuck in.

IMG_6808.JPG

This is why premium dirt like this excites me so much!

IMG_6812.JPG

IMG_6810.JPG

I mean look at it! So beautiful. So far I've gotten two loads and I've been told he should have a total of 9 loads, but this does change often.

This is coming from around the foundation of a house as they are replacing weeping tiles. This and new excavations for house construction have been the best dirt I've had over the years and it's just in time as the grade and filling is mostly done, so I just need to spread this out over the top 1-2" so that some grass and ground cover will take.

IMG_6807.JPG

Oh yeah and the best part is that they are doing the work quite close (2 mins) and so appreciative that don't have to truck the dirt about 30mins (1 way) to their regular dump site that they offered to bring their equipment over when they finish there job and spread the dirt all around! This will save me a few hours of my own time and if I catch them when they are there I can usually give them a bit of cash to do a few extra projects as well.

I do promise I'll eventually find all my photos and give a bit of an overview of all the work that's been done.


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Are you creating a garden?

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Yay for awesome dirt and potentially random help! Nice when you can wrangle a situation where everyone gets what they need XD

You know with all those trees you have, making your own dirt is pretty easy.
The last house I lived at, the yard was poorly maintained (2 acres). Lots of pomegranate trees, orange and other misc. I raked the leaves into a big pit and watered it. Occasionally I would take the outside edges and shovel them into the center. Before I knew it, it was gorgeous dirt.
You can also take stucco lath and create a cylinder. Composting is fun

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 27.03% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Nice landscaping

You have been defended with a 44.78% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint.

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @phelimint!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

Hello alliedforces!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Sounds like a good deal. I keep my own piles of fill dirt going whenever I excavate in one corner of the property I bring it and fill in a low spot in another part. You're making a real nice looking yard.

WOW what a change a lot of work but so worth it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01