You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MAKING GOATS MILK FETA - LESSON 1 IN CHEESEMAKING

in #homesteading5 years ago

Lovely! Thanks for sharing! When my neighbor starts milking again I must just give it a whirl. Your pictures and description had my mouth watering for a sampling! Wish you were closer for I'd love to have a supply of your awesome goat milk feta!

Sort:  

Aaaaah. You write such sweet compliments @porters. I hope you get to try cheesemaking. A really easy and basic cheese is one I call peasant cheese. You simply get your milk to 32 C and slowly pour in either lemon juice or apple cider vinegar (my theory is 1 lemon per litre, give or take) As soon as the curds form stop pouring. Scoop the curds into a cheesecloth and hang up overnight. That simple!

Hey! Thanks for that simple cheese recipe - a great place to start!
You also get the added goodness of the lemon or the apple cider vinegar!

Exactly! And, while I like the lemon flavour I don't like cheese tasting like ACV so I chop in herbs when I toss the curds into the cheesecloth. But play around. You really can't go wrong!

Thanks for the extra tip! Now I just have to wait until I get fresh milk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67