You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Food Gardening: Gathering the Abundance!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I totally love the wild foods in my garden. We had a drought year once and not much that I planted came up or survived but the wild plants did and I was very grateful for their nutritious goodness! I feel there is such an abundance around me here in the forest but you take someone from the inner cities and they would starve out here in the wilderness.

Sort:  

So well said. Exactly.

We are basically having a drought right now and looking around to see what is thriving — it is these wild foods- certainly none of our greens! The corn looks great and the tomatoes and peppers... but so much is struggling.

Another thing I found that often folks will make bare ground and sow their seeds in it but nature doesn't like open ground and usually something will sprout from it. Many of those wild plant (weeds) will provide a ground cover so the earth does not become parched in the heat. I'm also a big into mulching to keep the water in the ground. Your gardening space still looks pretty productive for having a drought.

yes exactly! i have noticed that time and time again. we definitely mulch a lot, but it has still be quite dry this year. we have been watering a lot to help things survive, but it is noteworthy which plants are still thriving.

Good point... I just came out of the city and I have almost no clue what to eat. But I am starting to recognise so many different plants and learnong about them now too... and trees.

As far as the drought, next time this happens save the seeds of whatever survives and plant them again next year. You can actually teach plants to have a stronger will to survive without water, over time. That's what the weeds did!

good tip - thanks!

You're welcome. There's man named Pascal Poot, in a dry and arid part of France who gows 400 types of tomatoes without water or fertilizers. And he produces the same amount of fruit as traditional growers!

yes! great point coconut! we are finding that some of our arugula and kale have been self selecting in this way and those are the ones that are re-sowing (we let them go to seed and self sow). curious to see how this will pan out over the years.

Thank you.

I would like to do that when we have a proper garden/food forest design started. I am curious to see that too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87