My First Seed Carousel!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Is It Early Or Late?

So, we're right snack in the middle of gardening season, and I'm starting a seed carousel. Should I have started it last fall? Maybe wait till this winter? Well, I start some of my seeds in November, so either way, it would be to late for me to start many of my seeds if I waited til winter to get them going.

So I'm going to send the first of a series of carousels out on Friday. I'm hoping to send one out every few weeks through maybe October.

Wait! What's a Seed Carousel?

I first heard of them from @beatitudes8 several months ago. It's quite simple, but I love the idea!

Here's how it will work:

  • I'm gonna stuff an envelope with different kinds of seeds. Then I'm gonna ship it off to one of you all.
  • The recipient will take from it what they are interested in growing, add to it from their seed collection and send it on to the Steemian of their choosing.
    Recieve, take, give, send, repeat.
  • At the end of the cycle, the envelope will come back to me.

Here's What Will Be In The Package When I Send It Out



rsz_0708181548.jpg



  • Contender Beans
  • Black Vernissage Tomatoes
  • Gold Medal Tomatoes
  • Chadwick Cherry Tomatoes
  • Mary Washington Asparagus
  • Sweet Chocolate Peppers
  • Birdhouse Gourd
  • Jewelry Gourd
  • Toothache Plant
  • Corsican Basil
  • Marsh Mallow
  • German Chamomile
  • Purple Coneflower

It is a little tomato and herb heavy, but those are my favorite, and it's what I have the most of!

A Couple Of Rules

Please don't keep the package for more than a week or so, we want as many Steemians to receive to carousel as possible. I know that sometimes getting to town takes a bit,so there's no 7 days or less - or else rule! Just move it along as quickly as possible.

Don't be greedy! I mean, by all means, take what you want, but use the trade even or trade up rule. Leave at least as much as you take. Leave something as good as what you take. I know that's subjective, but use your judgement and be considerate of those who will receive the package after you.

If you have seeds with history, or seeds with a story, let us know! Maybe leave a little note telling the next recipients where they came from, our how long they've be in your family.

Please make a post when you get the package. Let us know what you're taking our adding!

The First Stop For This Carousel and How To Be Next!

The first Steemian I'm choosing to receive my first carousel will be @nateonsteemit.

If you would like to be next in line, you might want to give him a follow. He'll choose who gets it next! Is up to the current possessor of the package to decide who it goes to next, so you might want to follow it!

Be sure to check out this post on medicinal Passion flower and enter for the medicinal seed giveaway!

1522684956444.jpg

Sotall Directory of Steemit Posts

Sotall Community Forums


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

All pictures are mine!

Sort:  

I wish you all the best in your quest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94