You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Acorns From Field To Table, Part 3: Cooking With Acorn Flour!

in #homesteading6 years ago

At a guesstimate, how many acorns does it take to make a cup of flour? (Or - what weight of unshelled acorns gives you how much flour?)

And in your experience, how long does acorn flour keep?

Your photographed bread looks delicious. :)

Sort:  

Ohh...that's a toughie. In order to have the half-gallon jar of acorn flour that I have on my counter, I'd say I went through a 5 gallon bucket of acorns? That's taking into account the ones that had weevils/were rotten too. So to make a cup of flour...I would get enough acorns to cover a cookie sheet. I think that would be enough, once processed.

I do know that fully-dried acorns can keep for years on end. I imagine that as long as the flour is kept in a dry, air-tight container, it would probably last years as well!

Thank you, that definitely gives me a rough idea, and I now know I have more than enough to do some experimenting with. :D

Oh good! Do let me know if I can help at all. I'm no expert, just excited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80