Tangwystl Cottage - you can never feel glum looking at sunflowers

in #homesteading6 years ago

Well, that's what I think anyway.
I also think the same when looking at those 'happy faces'.

Helianthus annuus
DSC00186.JPG
I think the only editing I ever did on this photo was to crop it. I've used it as my avvy in the past. I love it because it is from my own garden efforts.

This is the original photograph, before cropping.
DSC00187.JPG
It really was a tall flower, so cool!

One of the shorties.
DSC00182.JPG
The spot I planted these in must have been very favourable to them, they did so well. The hens also appreciated their treat of large seed heads to peck at.

This was the first time I'd actually tried growing sunflowers, but had always wanted to. I was really, really pleased with how they did that year. The variety was likely either Russian Giant or Skyscraper.
DSC00189.JPG
It was so cool to watch the heads follow the sun across the sky. Here, they are facing roughly north (the west being to their left in the pic).

The enclosure behind them is 2 metres tall, so you can get an idea as to just how much taller those plants got.
DSC00184.JPG

I got busy doing other things so it was quite a few years between this crop and when I next planted sunflower seeds in the garden.
DSC00193.JPG
I am determined, because we use the seeds in cooking, to become self-sufficient in this crop. I'm not sure if I'll ever attempt to extract oil from the seeds, but you never know.

As the florets finally begin to die off you can start to really see the seed head producing. All those brown bits in the middle that fall off when you brush over them are the actual flowers.
DSC00185.JPG
The only gripe I have about sunflowers is their inclination to attract unwanted guests like the earwig. Gross, especially when you go to harvest the seeds and earwigs fall out from throughout the head. Gross, gross, gross.

This was one plant which self-seeded from a previous year's plant and produced an absolutely amazing number of sunflower heads on it.
IMG_20170409_103132.jpg
Sorry the photo isn't the best quality, but I hope you'll be able to count a good number of the heads in different stages of development. I think I counted about a dozen.
It was also a very strong stalk as I never even tried to tie it to the fence. It survived all strong winds we had, and lasted well into the autumn season.
I'm really hoping I see self-seeding plants from it each year; and the bonus will be that whatever I collect I know will be organic!
One thing I learned during my research was that the best seeds to retain for replanting are from round the outside of the head. Nice plump healthy ones.

Random fun fact time:

  • They're the only flower to have 'flower' in their name.
  • Cultivated for food, medicine, dye, and oil they were spread from North America to the rest of the world by the Spanish Conquistadors cir. 1500.
  • In 2014, the world's tallest sunflower was recorded as being 30ft 1in in height.
  • The de-seeded head can apparently be used for scrubbing things.
  • A whole lot were planted after the nuclear power plant disaster in Japan, as they soak up the radiation.
  • Symbolism includes things such as joy, longevity, creativity, self-worth.

And remember, bees adore them!
output_SRj043.gif
image source


Tangwystl Cottage banner small.jpg

ravenruis.png

banner2.png

Mannabase UBI - sign up via referral link, and help spread the word:
mannabase referral invite

(extra tags: #harvest #garden #organicgardening #organic #selfsufficiency #photography #newzealand)

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

I do agree they are so tall colorful and bright :)

Very fun post and gorgeous flower photos. We used to plant just a couple of sunflowers in our front yard when the kids were little. Fun plants to watch grow and watch them follow the sun. love the bee/sunflower gif :)

Stunning sunflower images @ravenruis I absolutely adore these bright and beautiful flowers and they most certainly lift ones spirits I believe.

It must be fascinating watching the maturing process and I really enjoyed reading your fun facts. What an amazing record for the worlds tallest sunflower. It's hard to believe but I'm sure its true.

I didn't know they soaked up radiation. Nature continues to amaze me. Have a great weekend.

Thanks, Trudee :)

Perhaps we should be planting them all along underneath power lines and around cell towers. :D

That sounds like a very sensible idea @ravenruis It shouldn’t be that expensive and could prevent a lot of illness.

Gorgeous!! And tall. Really tall.

@ravenruis Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98