The Peculiar Plant

in #homesteading5 years ago

Today, my husband brought home something peculiar. I saw a dead bush or grass thingy in the kitchen. I have this habit in my mini garden that when I see wild grass growing on the pots, I immediately pull them out and throw them away. But this one plant pot only has this brown thing that really looks like dead grass.

When I asked him what it was, he said it's a resurrection plant. "What are we, characters in a freaking MMORPG game?" A resu plant would come in handy, you just squeeze its essence and you get a resurrection potion, you respawn to the last save point.

nnrhlm1n8a.jpg

Anyways, while I thought the plant was dead, it was very much alive and in bloom for that matter. After a quick browse on wikipedia, I found out it was also called Rose of Jericho. It grows in the desert. When it's dry season, it curls into a ball and stays that way until it somehow gets wet by rain or any sort of moisture. It suddenly blooms and turns green (or maybe more accurately grows new green leaves or petls or mosses). What a cool ability for a desert flower. (Although, it's a moss.)

ehvfrfz1wa.jpg

My husband said I just need to water it and put it under the sun for a little while and I should be able to "resurrect" it. Boy, this man is impossible to please. I plant him vegetables, prepare homecook meals out of those veggies I plant amd he still wants me to bring a dead plant to life.

injdw53iz6.jpg

Well, I'm curious if this is indeed a rose of Jericho. Since it's already in bloom, I'll await if it turns green one of these days.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Is it imported? Why buy it indeed. 😅 Just for the novelty maybe. Dpat ingat tayo sa imported plants... Baka may effect sa local ecology eh. 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not sure though. He said his colleague gave it to him. Apparently, they were unable to resurrect the plant. Di ko sure kung kakayanin ko rin tong buhayin. Sana naman wala siyang negative impact sa plants ko.

Ehehe. Good luck. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.818 which ranks you at #13174 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 12 places in the last three days (old rank 13186).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 149 contributions, your post is ranked at #113.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98