Celebration of Abundance! Epic Garden Harvest - My 2nd Suburban Garden - Part 4

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

This suburban garden produced more than I could consume. There's only so much you can eat! I let much of it go back to the earth and toward soil building. I also shared a lot of it. Before I ended up moving I was considering starting a small CSA out of my backyard. As a trial I started bringing a box of veggies to my sister at least once a week for several months. She got to try out new veggies and I was rewarded with the satisfaction of sharing.

I shared veggies and herbs with many friends and family. All in all I am thankful to mother nature for providing so much abundance... all I had to do was let go of control of where plants should grow and how they should grow and she showed me what they wanted.

I spent roughly two years working in this garden.

From the failed attempt to grow veggies, followed by sheet mulching all the grass with a permaculture twist, followed by a shower of abundant vegetable and herb harvests. This post is proof that a gardener rookie can grow lots of veggies with a little effort and trusting and letting go to mother nature.

I'll take you through many of my firsts and my larger harvests month by month. Let's go!


More posts in this series:

Part 1: From Grass to a Vegetable Polyculture
Part 2: How I Used Pioneer Veggies to Build Healthy Soil
Part 3: A Permaculture Consultation for A New Garden
Part 4: Celebration of Abundance! Epic Garden Harvest


Year 1: August

zuc.jpg

First zucchini ;)

IMG_1133.JPG

Figs from the tree I dug out of my friends' backyard. They were re landscaping and didn't want this young fig tree. I happily dug it up and ended up transplanting it twice. Turns out the fig is amazingly resilient and extremely fast growing.

IMG_1171.JPG

Basil, first tomato and zucchini

IMG_1214.JPG

First carrots, tomato, tomatillo and various herbs: Chicory, basil, parsley, thyme, oregano

Year 1: September

IMG_1226.JPG

Tomatillos

IMG_1250-001.JPG

IMG_1238.JPG

More herbs including sage now.

Year 1: October

IMG_1320-001.JPG

Carrots, fava leaves & chicory

IMG_1640.JPG

Year 1: November

IMG_1679-001.JPG

Greens, abundant greens! Including Chicory and Radish greens.

IMG_1685.JPG

Parsnip, purple green beans, basil, oregano, squash blossom, various greens.

IMG_1732.JPG

Carrots, parsnips, daikon radish, black radish, herbs

IMG_1733.JPG

Chicory and other greens

IMG_1751.JPG

Chicory, radish greens, young bok choy, young kale, fava leaves, basil

IMG_1755.JPG

A happy gardener's breakfast sandwich

IMG_1757.JPG

A green bouquet!

IMG_1758.JPG

Breakfast salad

IMG_1781.JPG

Radish greens, lettuce, chicory, swiss chard, kale, bok choy

Year 1: December

IMG_1975.JPG

Lettuce, fava leaves, kale, bok choy, fennel leaves, kumquats, chicory, collard greens, yarrow leaves, radish leaves

Year 2: January

IMG_1977.JPG

Into a nice salad!

IMG_1979.JPG

IMG_1980.JPG

Sauteed greens

IMG_2067.JPG

Budding peas

IMG_2129.JPG

Turnips, lettuce, kale, chicory, garlic leaves

IMG_2130.JPG

Into a delicious veggie salad with homemade bread

IMG_2211.JPG

Kale, lettuce, turnips & greens, chicory

turnip.jpg

Huge turnip!

Year 2: February

IMG_2245.JPG

Young fava beans, peas, kumquats & lettuce

IMG_2246.JPG

Into a delicious garden salad

IMG_2300.JPG

Parsley, chicory, fennel, kale, rosemary, thyme, turnips, peas, sage, black radish, swiss chard

Year 2: March

IMG_2330.JPG

Fava beans, fennel, chicory, kale, parsley, rosemary, turnips

IMG_2331.JPG

Into a delicious veggie curry!

IMG_2326.JPG

You a-peas me!

IMG_2339.JPG

Lettuce rejoice!

IMG_2340.JPG

We might need a bigger bucket for the lettuce and chicory

IMG_2348.JPG

Get the grill ready for searing the veggies

IMG_2386.JPG

Fennel leaves, parsley, fava beans, kale, garlic leaves, oregano, thyme, yarrow leaves, lettuce, chicory

IMG_2402.JPG

Your roots are starting to show! Turnips and chicory roots

Year 2: April

IMG_2472.JPG

Fennel, chard, kale, turnip, garlic leaves, fava beans

Year 2: May

IMG_2519.JPG

Huge black radish

IMG_2622.JPG

Kale, chard, fava beans, garlic leaves, yarrow leaves, sage, thyme, mint, fennel leaves

Year 2: July

IMG_2779.JPG

Broccoli greens, chard, green fennel seeds (delicious!), first onion, first corn

Year 2: August

IMG_2789.JPG

All the herbs harvest, probably for a chili.

IMG_2894.JPG

First of the garlic harvest

Year 2: September

IMG_20151118_144729.jpg

Young sweet potato

Year 2: October

IMG_20151128_120106.jpg

Ready to prepare a family meal. Collard greens, fennel, kohlrabi

Year 2: November

bowlgreens.jpg

Swiss chard: perpetual spinach and fava leaves

Year 3: January

IMG_20160107_105317.jpg

CSA delivery for sis: Fava leaves, mint, lemon grass, green peppers, celery, collard greens, possibly more hidden from view!

IMG_20160111_130153.jpg

Buddha's feast with first harvested broccoli

IMG_20160111_200222.jpg

Minced lemongrass ready for curry

Year 3: February

IMG_20160220_174341.jpg

Fava beans, monster carrot, kohlrabi, and fennel

Year 3: March

IMG_20160323_145039.jpg

Artichokes galore!

IMG_20160323_145102.jpg

Tip: you can make a tea from artichoke leaves

IMG_20160404_081724.jpg

Peppers spice up your life and add vibrancy to the garden.

IMG_20160401_132021.jpg

It all started with just a few seeds!

When it was time to move it was hard to say goodbye to the garden because I had so much love for it. It gave me so much joy. But it was easy to leave the garden because it had taught me to appreciate nature and food so much more and I knew I would take that with me wherever I go. And I knew there would be more gardens in my future!

garden.jpg


More posts in this series:

Part 1: From Grass to a Vegetable Polyculture
Part 2: How I Used Pioneer Veggies to Build Healthy Soil
Part 3: A Permaculture Consultation for A New Garden
Part 4: Celebration of Abundance! Epic Garden Harvest


Sort:  

all i have to say is - that BREAKFAST SANDWICH IS LIFE, OH MY WORD!

<3 <3 <3

LOL I totally agree. I love making crazy sandwiches. Here's another shot for you!

IMG_1753.JPG

I know right!! That sandwich is epic! Ahh I miss Socal and it's citrus. Those kumquats look great, too!

I miss it too! Luckily my parents visited me and dropped off some home grown citrus.. I am savoring it!

Wow. Nice looking courgettes! People are starting to grow figs here in Thailand too and they are soooo yum! Never seen anyone mince lemongrass for a curry though - Thai style we toss the whole piece in the pot and pull it out afterwards.

Being able to pick fresh fruits and veggies from your own garden is literally the best feeling! Beautiful thanks for sharing :D

Totally agreed! I am hooked now :)

Ahhh amazing harvest! Gardening is so fun and rewarding! :)

So many photos of greens! All that in your back yard. Lettuce rejoice!

This is totally awesome - fresh vegies all year round! It's an inspiration to all!!

Hats off to you! That is a great harvest and such a beautiful natural garden! =)

You put up so many great pictures so I am nominating you for the Seven Day Black and White Challenge. Hope to see some more of those pictures. Check out my post for the details!! =)

Thanks @jordanmccraw! I actually just finished posting on the b&w photo challenge... You can see my photos in my blog if you're curious. Thanks for thinking of me!

Love your posts! Thought you would throw up some great b&w! =)

The all animal theme is great!

Great to see the progression. It always starts off small...Eventually your love of it takes over haha

You have quite the green thumb there Mr. @sagescrub. All of your hard work and efforts certainly brought about the abundance. I started to salivate at the wonderful dishes you prepared with all the produce. Only question I have is what in the world did you do to those eggs! lol Is that lacy stuff I see around the edges? You must not have seem my poem about the omelet. LOL Just jerking your chain, and hoping you have a grand sense of humor. The dish looks amazing and I would eat it all up if you made it for me. Lacy eggs and all. wink wink. Happy gardening

https://steemit.com/foodphotography/@warpedweaver/the-omelet-and-i

Haha! Nice poem :) I take it you have never had a thai fried egg? It's cooked in oil very hot very quick, crispy bottom, soft top and runny yolk. yum!

To be fair I hated those lacy eggs as a kid.. I told my mom I didn't want any "plasticy eggs!"

nope, never had a Thai fried egg. It looks amazing though and as I said, I would eat it all up. We have some funny ideas when we are kids. I don't like rubber eggs either. :)

I don't like rubber eggs either. :)

LOL!!!!

Well if you are ever in So Oregon look me up and I'll fry you some eggs ;)

how close are you to burns? Would love to meet you someday.

It looks like it's about 6 hours... west of Ashland. I spent some time north of you on a farm in 2016 near john day area. It is so beautiful up there!

I am actually in Idaho, but I do have friends in the burns oregon area. Yes John Day is beautiful, but winters can be brutal with wind and snow. We avoid that stretch of road in the winter time and recomend everyone going to portland to up through lewiston Id.

Idaho! gotcha... well if you ever make it this way you have a friend in SW OR now :) Yeah that makes a lot of sense about the icy roads... I love a white winter but the driving can be tense at times.

I'm getting healthy just looking at all these great veges.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63383.41
ETH 3119.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85