You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteaderscoop Challenge: What are you doing to claim food sovereignty for yourself or your community, and why? Stanmr's entry

in #homesteading5 years ago

Wow @stanmr! You are doing so much for your family by growing healthy food and taking the time to consider how you can grow more of their diet and more nutrition. Its not always easy... good for you for sticking to it and seeing the value in homegrown over industrial food.

Thank you! You've inspired me to look more into barley. I did try a few grain trials last year and included hulless oats. The yield wasn't that great but I also had a problem with the bed being compacted by the horse so I should probably give it another try :P I have not tried barley yet. I love the idea of growing some of our own grains in the short term but in the long term planting perennials for our starches for a long term investment.

Sort:  

It's been hard learning all of this over the years. It will be years before I feel confident about my gardening skills. One thing is for sure, every season our garden improves. And we are able to grow more in the same space. Also I see my kids try new vegetables, that makes me a happy guy.

Hey @stanmr as a fellow gardener I am glad to see that you are encouraged to continue and enjoying the results of your labor as you continue learning through the lessons that nature presents us. All of us gardeners are in the same boat :)

I see that you are new to steem and I've delegated some steem power to you from our community account @homesteaderscoop to help you with your mana as you are building your account. I hope it helps!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Well thank you @sagescrub. That will help tremendously!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69053.05
ETH 3802.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69