The Rewards of Fall Planting

in #homesteading5 years ago

Hello Steemit community, it's Idyllwild here with an early spring update of our garden and the beautiful blooms from plants I started last fall.

In January, I posted an image of my budding hellebore in A Flower That Blooms in Winter and I'm happy to follow up with the same bud in its full glory!

IMG0019.JPG

While hellebores take awhile to flower (5 years), the good news is once it gets established, I'll be able to take divisions and get more going. All my hellebore seedlings that I started from seeds have also sprouted their second leaves and I've potted them up into individual pots.

Aside from hellebores, last fall I also invested in fall bulbs such as anemones, ranunculus, daffodils, tulips, snowdrops, and narcissus. Here are some of those beauties blooming:

F8C249AF61DF4434B4A3D5A22C29FF1C.JPG
Snowdrops do exactly as they're named - flower right in the snow!

6FE694D3F56844048D3D4AA7636CF384.JPG
My first anemone blossom. This little lady was planted in our greenhouse. I also planted several dozen outside, which are slower to bloom but much sturdier than their greenhouse cousins since they've weathered the winter. It'll be interesting to see the differences between these plants later.

Ranunculus also performed surprisingly well in our zone 7a winter, with all their newly sprouted leaves intact.

This is my first time experimenting with these flowers and seeing how far I can push them in our winter. I put some in the greenhouse just in case but so far they're proving to be far more resilient than we give them credit for.

Bulbs such as the ones I mentioned are all really great flowers to grow in your garden because not only do they do well in winter, but they also take very little care after they're established and they'll come back year after year.

Fall is also a very good time to start perennials, so I potted up peonies, daylilies, clematis, and roses. If we were living on own land, I would've planted these straight in the ground and allow them to establish, but potting will do for now so we can move them later. However, the nice thing about potting is I can observe how they do in different locations before planting them in their permanent spots.

I also seeded yarrow, feverfew, veronica, dusty miller, dianthus, and scabiosa, all of which have quickly outgrown their 1/2 gallon pots and ready to be transplanted into the ground. In addition to all these, I got a head start on hardy annuals such as larkspur, delphinium, poppy, and pansy. Hardy annuals can withstand a light frost, so now that the ground is no longer frozen, it's perfect timing for transplanting them.

Lesson learned: fall planting is well worth it!

Now on to spring planting :). I can't wait to show you our garden in full bloom. It's going to be so full of beauty, food, and medicine. Season 2 at the homestead is kicking off nicely!




coopbadgevendor.png

Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community


natural-medicine-banner.jpg

#naturalmedicine | Introducing @naturalmedicine | Discord Community


ghscollective_logo-01-1.png
#ghsc | Introducing @ghscollective | Discord Community


image.png

#tribesteemup | @tribesteemup | The 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp

Sort:  

Wow... loving the long range thinking & garden planning. The flowers? Divinity takes many forms. 💚

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm learning to take the long view, just as nature does :). I love the way you describe flowers - divinity takes many forms indeed!

I have a hellebore on the north side of the house. I bet it's in full flower, but I haven't been out to look. So far, we have a snowdrop flowering since mid Feb and a purple crocus opened last week. Mostly there's still too much snow to see what's out there...

I'd bet your hellebore is blooming too. There's something so amazing to me about these seemingly fragile flowers blooming in snow. It says so much about resilience. Hope you'll see more blossoms soon!

I actually went out to check it right after writing this reply, and it was still too far under snow to see....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05