Let'sTalk:Bread

in #homesteading7 years ago

Well, we came through Irma unscathed and now it's time to get back to business as usual! One thing that I love, is bread! Now, my figure will disagree with that statement, but it's my weakness, especially a nice, fresh, crisp loaf of sourdough! At one point last year, I actually had a batch of sourdough culture that I was maintaining and using for my bread. I found that it was too much work, kind of like having a pet, which, I already have plenty of! And when you neglect your culture, it can get really funky. And so, I needed to find a way to make a sourdough type bread that didn't need a starter culture to make it with.

The thing that makes sourdough bread have the "sour" type taste, is the fermentation process with the dough, pulling in natural lactobacilli and yeast from the environment. So, I had to find a way to kind of skip over the long fermentation process and get it shorter and more manageable.

IMG_4197.jpg
Sourdough is not the type of bread that you can whip up in one day, it has to ferment, or you just have regular bread. The ingredients are flour, yeast, salt and water......that's it!

IMG_4198.jpg
Mix up the ingredients in your bowl, cover and store in a warm, dry place, and wait.

IMG_4207.jpg
IMG_4208.jpg
18 hrs later, a very mild sourdough has been created!

Sprinkle some flour over the dough, so you can loosen it from the bowl, and place in your prepared baking dish.
IMG_4209.jpg

IMG_4210.jpg
I use dutch ovens to bake my bread, it turns out very nicely.

Cover and store another 2 hours for the dough to rise up a bit more.
IMG_4212.jpg
IMG_4213.jpg

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees and bake 45-50 min. I need to note, dutch ovens work best if they are pre-heated along with your oven, so to compensate for this, I generally place my dutch oven in the oven during the last 10 minutes of pre-heating for a total of 50 minutes pre-heating/baking. Also, my oven is a big 'ole piece of crap, and takes an eternity to warm up, so, you may not struggle with baking as much as I do ;-P.

IMG_4214.jpg
IMG_4215.jpg
IMG_4216.jpg
And there it is. There is nothing like the smell of fresh baked bread. Now, I cannot promote this bread as a "sandwich" bread, ie: pb&j, or cold-cut style, however, if you desire an awesome BLTA, look no further!

IMG_4218.jpg
IMG_4219.jpg
It is also an awesome companion to breakfast! Just toast it up and serve with your over-medium eggs! YUM!

IMG_4220.jpg
Now, these guys are reserved for a superb bruschetta dish that I make, stay tuned for that coming later.......are you hungry yet?

Sort:  

I enjoy making sourdough, too! I have a recipe to 'restart' your mother if you did not keep up on your feeding schedule and it got a little too sour... It happens to the best of us, but don't throw it out!
Let me know if I should whip it out and share the recipe!

that looks delicious! thank you for the offer, too bad, i did dump it already, it turned to vinegar! lol

LOL! You make it look so delicious, but I HATE sourdough! Went to San Francisco on a business trip, about gagged the whole time. The entire damn city smells like that crap!
Very glad you all survived the attack by the weather!

haha, that's crazy! i never fathomed that someone could hate sourdough! lol. the smell is surely not desirable, i agree! but this is very mild, and probably, not really considered sourdough, true sourdough anyhow. i am sure some bakers would have my head for even calling this sourdough ;-)

Mm mm ! Nothing smells better the homemade bread !! Loved your post @sback , and I think you will be a great addition to my @karenmckersie / new second account that I just started up just for food posts and bloggers like yourself ! Its called @momskitchen ! Im now following you , have upped and resteemed this post as well ! I will be doing this with future posts of yours when you follow back as a way of supporting each other , good luck , I hope to see you soon !

I love sourdough so much! Living off grid, it's only easy to make in the winter because you have to feed the starter so much in warm weather. LOTS OF PICTURES! Love it!

Congratulations @sbackr, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3635 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1554.17. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I'm sure he baked it delicious

definitely some interesting looking bread. can't say i've ever had homemade sourdough.

Wow! That sandwich looks great! I love avocados!

Oooo! Avocado and crispy bacon sand! I wish you invited me to your little sourdough bread party!

Always wanted to try making my own whole grain bread.. I think you just gave me the stimulation I need.

Much love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86