Introduction

in #homesteading5 years ago

My name is Scott Terry and I'm a full time organic dairy farmer, homesteader, and podcaster. I'm a father of 8 and husband to Leah. Over the years I've raised cattle, sheep, goats, chickens, turkeys, and horses. I'm a life long gardener and fur trapper. I've lived in the Alaskan bush at one time and trapped from a cabin 26 miles from the nearest road. I'm currently grazing cattle on a 100 acres in northern NY in the St Lawrence valley. I look forward to participating in the steemit community!

14055179_10208838583075441_2129991299625411122_n.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Scott! Nice to meet an organic farmer here on steem! Your background sounds exciting and rewarding - you must have some good stories to share :) I'm currently homesteading on rented land in Oregon, 10 acres but the garden is much smaller. There are a lot of homesteader/farmer type folks here in steem! I think you'll enjoy it here :)

Nice to meet you, sagescrub! Look forward to following what you are doing in Oregon

Welcome Scott! Very cool and interesting background. Excited to read some of your stories!

Thanks, and nice to meet you!

Howdy Scott! I'm Nate.

Glad to have you aboard. I love your attitude already and I'm looking forward to seeing you grow in you homesteading and permaculture ways as well as on the blockchain! I'm so glad you're here and already seeing value in this place.

Community, community, community! The longer you're on steem, the deeper you'll get and the more valuable community will become. Here's some tips I like to tell folks. Stuff I've learned, as there wasn't anyone that took the time to tell me.

  1. Discord is your friend. It is a mesaaging app where most steem communities rally. Until steem's next hard fork in a couple months, we're mostly operating out of there for community it stuff.
  2. Post regularly. Folks want to hear from you because we care about our people. Daily updates, projects, whatever. This place started as a long form blogging platform, but was made for social media and us evolving that direction with the dapps that are constantly being developed.
  3. Engage. It's frustrating seeing people that make good posts and create good content but never comment or reply.

There's a bunch of homesteading and permacture people here on steem, you're in the right place! To get you started with a few, there's @sagescrub, @riverflows, @walkerland, @mountainjewel, @porters, @papa-pepper, @goldenoakfarm, @elfmyselfandi, @bobydimitrov, @bghandmade, @ofsedgeandsalt, @thistle-rock, @sustainablelivin, and so many more that I'm sure you'll find valuable as you put down roots here on the chain.

Right now what I think are the big homesteading communities are:

  • @homesteaderscoop, an open marketplace made by @sagescrub where homesteaders can sell their goods for steem, SBD, USD, or barter. The website is https://homeateaderscoop.com and it is a resource that is already providing supplemental income for homesteaders around the world, after having been open for barely two months.
  • @naturalmedicine, made by @riverflows. A place where we talk about natural healing using anything from religion to herbs, to simply the healing effects of good wholesome food. Here's their discord invite
  • @ghscollective, made by a lot of people, where we're working hard at growing an online community of homesteaders around the world. Here's their discord invite
    Of course, there are others that fill more niches in the vast homesteading field, but those will give you a solid start.

There's a lot to learn here, but you'll get the hang of it. I've shared your post in various places and am directing folks this way! Life on chain has been difficult for new folks lately, so I'm glad we're able to scoop you up!

I'll personally be delegating you 25 Steem Power to help you get your bearing and start engaging. SP is steem that you've staked in your wallet to increase your ability to influence and interact on the chain. More SP means you can make more comments, more posts, and a more valuable vote. I suspect you'll have a couple more delegations coming as well. We're a good group of communities and we're set on supporting our people.

You've come at a really cool time. Steem is lower than I've seen it in my year here, so the people you'll encounter are quality folks that are set on building valuable communities, and we're here for the long haul.

We got you fam, stay a while :)

Thanks Nate! Nice to meet you and I very much appreciate the tips and advice!

Sure thing! Probably the longest comment I ever wrote lol hope it helps :D

What brought you to steem?

Wow I'm amazed, how did you manage all that and still father 8 children! Welcome to Steemit!

My kids are a big part of my operation here. Couldn't do it without them. Being able to work with your kids every day is pretty good gig

How old are your kiddos?

Hi Scott... welcome. Each of us is on our own homesteading journey but we are all helping and sharing our knowledge as best we can.

I'm pretty new here myself, so I have a fresh eye into the frustrations of a newbie learning the ropes here... I will do my best to help answer your questions if I can!

Nice to meet you, thistle-rock!

Hey Scott, welcome to Steemit!
Being a homesteader, and apparently one who walks his own ways, you'll certainly fit in here. I'm quite curious about your Alaska stories as a fur trapper, and look forward to more of your posts, so I've followed you already. I also picked your intro post to share with @sndbox's Welcome Wednesday contest. (You'll find a bunch of contests of all types here, trying to encourage interaction.) You can check it out here: https://steemit.com/community/@sndbox/introducing-newcomers-with-welcome-wednesdays-steemonboarding-contest-6
Cheers,

Thanks storebeker! I've got some interesting stories from my Alaska days. Great memories that I'll be sharing for sure

YAY for organic farming! YAY for big families and children raised in the country. Welcome @scott-terry! I hope you find your "tribe" here. There are plenty of lovely people to interact with. Homesteaders. Gardeners. Animal lovers. Natural. Parents. The sky is the limit. Enjoy the adventure

Congratulations @scott-terry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello..!!
@scott-terry
Awesome. I look forward to seeing your posts and reading your stories.
(:

Welcome Scott, enjoy your stay here. Looking forward to your posts. Cool kid you got there, this picture makes me smile! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73