Fruit and Nuts

in #homesteading6 years ago

Today, I was walking around checking things out on the homestead. The extended cool weather has slowed things down by 2-3 weeks but overall things are looking pretty good. Two things excited me on my walk:

First the grapes:

DSC01037.JPG

Small clusters of grapes starting to form!

DSC01038.JPG

Next I show something interesting on a 4 year old pecan tree, pollen tassles:

DSC01036.JPG

This tree is only 6 feet tall. Does this mean we have a chance of getting a few nuts this year? Either way it is exciting to see the plants growing!

I love spring for this very reason, you just never know what can show up over night!

Sort:  

Loved the tour. Thanks for sharing!

One of these days I my learn Dtube and give a real tour?

Looking good Chris, I bet you get a few nuts this year!

That would be a huge blessing. When I planted that tree I thought it wasn't going to make it.

So do you have to wait 5 years after the tree was planted to eat the fruit or 5 years after it first produces fruit?

The 5th year after planting is my understanding. Shalom!

Don't you love it when everything starts to grow?! I saw the first blooms on my tomato plants this morning and now I am super excited to get those fresh tomatos!!
I hope you end up with some pecans!

Thank you. Great news on the tomatoes!

Nice to see the fruits of your labor.
My cherry tomatoes are growing fantastic so far and the ginger is now coming up.

Authentic post! glad to know there are creators like you here. If you wanna see similar post, check my post as well.

Spamming others is not a good thing here at steemit and you will be flagged for it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58