Trimming Fruit Trees and Grape Vines

in #homesteading6 years ago

The other day I saw a great post from @beatitudes8 and @papa-pepper on pruning fruit trees. I don't want to duplicate the information I just want to share a few pictures of our trees before and after.

I am doing this post because the first time I pruned are trees back harshly I thought for sure they would die and produce nothing. This was not the case in fact they grew wonderful and put on an abundance of fruit.

DSC00616.JPG

I trimmed a total of 9 trees and removed 5 wheel barrow loads of wood. This picture shows how all pieces were cut to fit in the wheel barrow.

DSC00622.JPG

DSC00630.JPG

The grape we are trimming today is a Bronze muscadine. This vine has been growing for 3 years and produced 5 lbs of grapes for us to eat last year.

DSC00620.JPG

This is the pile of vines from the trimming.

DSC00633.JPG

After the hair trimming...

DSC00631.JPG

And I found 2 little gifts while trimming, not the lambs. :)

DSC00632.JPG

These 2 vines rooted which will fit nicely in the vineyard since the deer killed 2 last year. Amazing how the Lord provides!

Each year we have issues with a worm or bug getting a hole in our fruit. We currently only use soap and a little oil in a sprayer to offer some protection for the fruit. I would really like to hear from others what they are using to protect their fruit from worms/bugs. After all we want healthy fruit but each year we only get 1/2 or less of a harvest due to the bugs/worms. Any info would be greatly appreciated in this area!!

Sort:  

That's a wonderful effort you doing. Prunning didn't come easy. I so much appreciate such updates and hope to see how they develop

Thank you, we will post again to show how thinks come out. Most of the trees are 5 years old so they should do well.

Wow. Wish you success
Have you tried banana 🍌 peel tea? Updated on it's uses 👌
Good for the cold season 😎

Interesting, I plan to look it up. Thank you!

Welcome as always 😏

Yes that is such a blessing! I don't sweat what nature eats, we both get fed.

I agree with you overall, it is just hard to give away 50% or more with so little up front. But like you said it could be worse, nothing!!

Not a sparrow falls without God knowing...

Thanks for sharing, @shalomacres! I just ordered a book on eBay about pruning, and it should be here soon. I am really looking forward to getting it so that I can better learn how to take care of our trees and such. We got a big load of them coming from the Missouri Department of Conservation, so I need to learn how to take care of them!

As to the loss, I have no experience, so I don't know how to help. Maybe in a few years! (Not that that helps you now.)

Great news on getting a good number of trees from the state. Good deals, not sure if you have a guardian dog or something to keep the deer away. If you don't have any grapes coming you may want to get some, they can be over looked on a homestead and they produce long before fruit trees.

Looks great! you did well trimming that grape vine- sure had a lot to cut off ;)

Thank you - I messed up the first year and had been slowing trying to recover. Our new grape area is much improved, such is life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75