Vegetable Garden Update, Growing Sweet Pepper

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Lately I have been getting more intrested in growing peppers, and my collection is expanding rapidly!!

20180604_210604.jpg

Recently I bought some Sweet peppers (We Dutch call them Paprika), today I've put them in some soil and placed them in a humidity dome over a heating pad and under a 25watt CFL.
Now all there is to do is wait and hope they surface soon!!

20180603_194303.jpg

All my other peppers are growing wonderfull cant wait till they produce some fruits!! Im also thinking abour ordering more Exotic and special peppers online, like for example one with a few different kind of colors(Chineze 5 color) and some extreme hot ones like the carolina reaper haha!! I'm really getting hyped about this pepper growing adventure!!😂

20180603_194743.jpg

The Potatoes are growing fast too, at least above ground they do, if I lift the pot there are not yet any potatoes forming but that is to be expected after only a few days/weeks.

20180604_210633.jpg

The Garlic same story, altough the pot on the right doesn't look quite as good as the other. I dont know what is going here haha!!

20180604_210524.jpg

Do you know some cool pepper strains I should know of? Let me know in the comments!!!

Time To Smoke Another One!!
ZomboMeme 15012018221328.jpg

Have a nice day everyone!!
videotogif_2017.07.10_22.05.05.gif

Sort:  

Oh that's so awesome! I can't wait to grow more edible stuff after we've moved into our new house next month. I grew strawberries and other types of berries at my previous place, but hadn't started growing veggies yet. I tried those Albert Heijn moestuintjes with some failure and success, so I had some tomatoes in my garden at one point, but I was already half-moved out of that place by then.

Paprika sounds like a great idea, I think I'll try that too!

We started with bleuberry and raspberry, but unfortunately in a appartement it would not grow so well🤔peppers on the other hand are doing great, so I decided to grow more of them instead!! Those AH moestuintjes were a disaster here too haha! Strawberry is also one I need to add!!

We started with bleuberry and raspberry, but unfortunately in a appartement it would not grow so well

Yeah, that's the downside there I guess. I'm looking forward to having a garden again, so I can get myself some new blueberry bushes!

Do the peppers need direct sunlight, or just a sunny-ish spot?

I grew strawberries on my balcony when I didn't have a garden, that worked out fine! Not sure if they need access to insects to actually grow fruit though. I'm not a very good and knowledgable gardener ;-) I'm not a very good or knowledgable gardener ;-)

The Peppers can use as much light as they can get, direct sun light should be ok in our climate I think they would prefer it but always make sure to keep an eye out on the very hot days, make sure they have water(Preferably in the morning, never experienced it myself but in direct sun light is said it could damege the roots?but i'm not sure about this one).

Sunny-ish should also be ok. In the winter you can keep them alive putting them inside(Room temperature) with extra light and they should do fine and live for the next year!!(Stil have to do this myself but they can even be turned into bonsai trees) I'm still learning myself, and not every plants agrees with my growing style hehe😂

I'm still learning myself, and not every plants agrees with my growing style hehe

Oh yes, I know that feeling! The tomatoes I had two years ago actually came from one of those moestuintjes. Once they started growing, I planted them in my backyard and basically left them alone, but they still grew a few tomatoes! So I might give those a try again :D

Well I don't know any cool pepper strains, but I do know that your garden looks fantastic. I've also been planting a few plants since the beginning of the year. It's only last month that I also started with my own adventure of planting vegetables. There is this supermarket where when you buy groceries they give you small little plants/vegetables. It's amazing how it's getting bigger by day. There's about 18 of these small vegetables, they have to be 25 in total. It starts out really small and then grow from there.

I also just started growing my own vegetables since a few months now, had some experience growing cannabis so I already had some practice growing plants. Really fun to grow and eat my own food 😆 I see you are from South Afrika. Praat U Afrikaans? Ek kom van Nederland af!! Our language is almost the same I always find it so awsome!!

woohoo! almost time to make hot sauce :D

I hope so haha!! I'm waiting for them to turn red? At least I bought them as red peppers😂, every now and then I pick one for use in a dish! I'm planing to leave them hang as long as possible, keeps them fresh haha!!

good idea! how do you feel about pickles? Pickled peppers might be a good recipe to try since you're going to have sooooo many!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Nice post haha, wish you all the best

Growing is very addicting

Growing sweet pepper: that's ironical
Hahah

Yeah we dutch dont call them pepper but paprika, but they are called Sweet peppers because they are not spicey at all!

Man I actually found a pack of seed of sweet pepper, thought of you. So you put the seeds directly in soil to start?

Yeah, I put the seeds in soil, in a humidity dome then I wait for them to appear and I transplant them to their own pot/container, they appreciate a warm climat when germinating. Its almost the same as with Cannabis seeds!

Heb nieuwe account nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94