The End of Spring- Planting Tomatoes

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

Springtime Was Fleeting But Beautiful

pizap.com15579446385861.jpg


Capturelllll.JPG


I have been very behind on my posts, but I have been stockpiling the pictures. I decided today would be a good day to share some of my Springtime pictures I took the last few months.

Springtime is not over yet, there are a couple more weeks before the blaring heat of Summer is turned on, so me as a procrastinator waited until the very last minute to plant my tomatoes.

Normally the custom in our area is to wait until the weekend of Easter to plant your gardens, no matter what day it falls on. But this year Easter came and went and my little tomato plants were stuck in their egg cartons way too long. I also planted too many, as I have about twenty plants growing in bigger pots.


Capturelllll.JPG


pizap.com15579454992721.jpg


Capturelllll.JPG


Ruby-Roo helped to supervise the Spring clean-up. I didn't get as much done as I had hoped, but I was able to rake all the pine straw from the budding grass, and weed a few flower gardens.

The bird bath was cleaned this morning and filled with fresh water, so she will need to find another place to perch from now on.

Although once the sun starts to shine she can be found in the shade.


Capturelllll.JPG


pizap.com15579456701051.jpg


Capturelllll.JPG


There has been much growth since that picture has been taken... that means it is time to weed again.

Today I found some Poison Ivy creeping into the flowerbed and was glad I found it early. One downfall of wrapping your porch with Boston Ivy is that the Poison Ivy blends in for a while before being noticed.


Capturelllll.JPG


pizap.com15579462612461.jpg


Capturelllll.JPG


Our Hosta too has grown quite a bit since the beginning of Spring and is well on it's way to blooming in the Summer sun. Every year this plant impresses me with its size and beauty. I planted it when it was a baby and each year it comes back to life. Nature is amazing!


Capturelllll.JPG


pizap.com15579467241351.jpg


Capturelllll.JPG


All in all I think our little flower garden is growing nicely and expanding around the fence. I've wanted to expand for a long time now, but it is a lot of work for a little garden.

The good news is after only 20 years of gardening, my husband has decided to level his gardening skills and wants to participate too. If you have a gardener in your life- do them a favor and water their plants for them. It's such a great help.

This year I was able to get some rose cuttings and plant them with rooting hormone. I really hope that I can get them to grow. I haven't had any success with cuttings yet. I was happy to know my gardening skills were high enough to talk to my plants now, only I didn't know what to say to them...


Capturelllll.JPG


pizap.com15579474038981.jpg


Capturelllll.JPG


I hope everyone enjoys the remaining days of Spring. Shave those legs and break out the flip-flops because Summer is right around the corner!

Don't forget @simgirlandsnook and @molovelly will be hosting the Bad, Bad Karaoke this Summer. You can find out more details here --> Bad, Bad Karaoke Challenge- "I Will Survive!" Win SBI


Capturelllll.JPG




Stay Cool!

Capturelllll.JPG


wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

Cool post.

found this one from PYPT

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi bluefinstudios the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

@simgirl the hostas are looking great, I have some in the garden as well. I also grow them in vertical planters. Great hearing you on #pypt

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi solominer the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.

Thank you!

Love Ruby, your garden supervisor! Your hosta plants are lovely, too! It is so good to see you with us again in PYPT, as you were absent far-too-long! 🤗

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi thekittygirl the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61410.76
ETH 2867.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61