You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge - My Update For June 2018

in #homesteading6 years ago

Long story, lol.
I used to be an internet marketer. When I started to earn good money, I decided I couldn’t use my own name anymore. So online I became ‘Mike’. It’s close enough to my real name, and anonymous enough to stay under the radar.

(Exra reason: people who speak English pronounce my name as Mike anyway, so I could spare myself the trouble of explaining the correct pronunciation, lol).

When I signed up for SteemIt, I didn’t realize that the name I signed up with would actually be my username. So the first 2 months here, I was @mike314-0005.
I managed to reach rep level 51, but being a marketer I knew that if you want to get somewhere on social media, you need a name that’s catchy, easy to remember, and - even more important - hard to misspell.

After misspelling my own username for the hundredth time, I decided I had to create a new account with another username before I grew too big and it was too late.

It was difficult to find a new username, so after a while I ‘simply’ decided it would be @simplymike.
I created a new account, delegated the SP from my old account to the new one and started from scratch again. :0)

Sort:  

Oh wow! That's pretty cool actually, thank you for sharing about your name. And it's very nice to meet you @simplymike. Keep in touch <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85