The Garden - Part 1: Flowers & Herbs All Around

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

The weather has changed, and it is taking it's toll on the garden. It's still looking great, but you can tell fall is near. Saying goodbye to crops always makes me feel a little sad.

20190906_102823.jpg

The summer of 2019 has been great for the garden. With no less than 3 official heatwaves, it was one of the hottest summers since 1830. It took quite an effort to keep plants from dying of thirst, but - in spite of the back trouble - I managed to keep most plants alive.

It's a bit unfortunate that the weather has changed. At the moment, it's too cold for the time of year. The summer garden is slowly turning into a fall garden....

Outside of the greenhouse, there's not a whole lot to harvest. Plenty of (edible) flowers and herbs, though.

Let me show you...

(Sun)Flowers

This year, I went a little crazy with sun- and other flowers. I had harvested plenty of flower seeds last year, and was gifted different kinds of sunflower seeds from my friends. I'm fairly new to growing flowers, and my very generous way of sowing resulted in an abundance of them. What a delight.

Beneficial bugs, like bees, have been feasting in the garden all summer. And the colors.... Oh, man... the colors.... So beautiful....

I have sunflowers growing all around the garden, all different colors and sizes....

sunflowers.jpg
Click to enlarge



They are such an awesome addition to the garden. Not only do they look beautiful, they also attract a lot of insects, and they are great as a natural support for climbing plants, like squash and chayote.

I learned a lot of new things about sunflowers this year.

  • Young flowers turn their faces towards the sun. It's only once they've matured, they get fixated on the East. This is called Heliotropism.

  • There's a difference between the type of sunflower that is grown for the seeds you eat (black and white-striped shells) and the type that is grown for the oil (black shells). I still need to figure out about the plain white shelled seeds some of my sunflowers produce.


    I didn't know those things. Guess you can say it was another very educational season :0)

I've never been a big fan of eating sunflower seeds, but after I saw a post on here in which they were roasted in the oven, I might give it a try. (If only I could find that post again, lol.)
After all, they appear to be quite healthy and contain loads of protein.

But back to the garden... More flowers everywhere....

This is just a small sample, as an illustration of how generous I sowed in spring. All around the garden are growing different kinds of (edible) flowers, like different types of Marigolds, Calendula, Borage, Nasturtiums, Oxalis triangularis (or 'False Shamrock' - so incredibly delicious), golden tickseed and more...

flowers1.jpg
Click to enlarge

flowers2.jpg
Click to enlarge

Back in December 2017, I bought two passion vines, as a tribute to the cat and dog we lost within 2 weeks of each others. For a long time, it looked like the plants weren't going to make it, but this summer, they're thriving.

The vines are growing longer each day, and it's awesome to see all those beautiful passion flowers open every morning. I even spotted a passion fruit yesterday. I didn't even know that could grown here in Belgium. It's probably too late in the season for it to ripen, but I take it as a sign the plants are feeling good and at home. Fingers crossed they will do even better next year.

passiflora.jpg
Click to enlarge

dividerlines.png

Herbs

Even though I plant most of my herbs in between my veggies, the perennials have made the herb spiral look pretty full.

Most of these herbs are used for cooking, make delicious/healthy tea or are turned into natural medicine.

The rosemary bush is completely out of control... It just keeps on growing. At this pace, it will be a Rosemary tree soon...

Just like the rest of my garden, the herb spiral is a bit of a mess, but I like it that way.

herbs 2.jpg
Click to enlarge

On the right, you can see the purple flowers of the oregano. The herb spreads so fast, I always let a small part come into flower, mostly because the bees seem to very fond of it.

Next to it, one of the lemon balm bushes. I must admit I'm kind of neglecting the lemon balm a bit these last couple of years. I find myself using lemon verbena way more often. I have it growing in 5 different containers spread all around the garden. The lemon taste is a lot stronger in those.

At the top, a bush of lavender. Perfect for a calming tea.

Left of it, almost undetectable because of the size of the Rosemary bush on the left, a curry plant.

herbs 1.jpg
Click to enlarge

This photo from the backside gives you a better idea of how big the rosemary bush actually is.
The sage has been cut down to the ground 3 times this season, and it just keeps on growing.

dividerlines.png

More

I do have some veggies and fruits in the garden. Some have been doing better than other.

I had to cut the greens of the Jerusalem Artichoke earlier this week, and yesterday, I harvested the pumpkins and removed the plant. Both were heavily infected.

Having to remove plants is part of the season, of course... but it makes me a little sad... It's so... so final... Sigh

Anyway, I'll get started on an update on the veggies and fruits later today. I've already spent way more time than expected on this one. Better get it out today.

Stay Tuned!



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


All Images are sourced in the post. The ones that are not sourced are created with The Logo Creator Software


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


cooplogosteemmedium.png
Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community


naturalmedicine.jpg


Sort:  

Great garden
Lots of sun flowers
!trdo

Thanks, @cloudblade.
And thanks for the Tdro!

Have a !BEER
;0)

Congratulations @cloudblade, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @simplymike!
@simplymike got 6 TRDO & @cloudblade got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Oh, you have a so beautiful garden, @simplymike!
I particularly love sunflowers: yours are simply awesome!

$trdo & a !giphy huge+hug!



// You can support giphy by using one of your witness votes on untersatz! //

Congratulations @amico, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @simplymike!
@simplymike got 6 TRDO & @amico got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thanks a lot, @amico :0)

I was curious as to why my area could not produce perfect blooming sunflowers. The petals are small and fail to bloom properly.

Your flowers look great!

Where are you at, @anggreklestari

I always assumed sunflowers could grow anywhere, but somewhere in this comments section, I saw @cicisaja say she didn't have any luck with it either


This post is manually curated by @sourovafrin and received an upvote from @SchoolForSDG4
School For SDG4
A School For Social and Educational Development of Underprivileged Children

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted as @SteemitBD curation support. Steemit Bangladesh is the first youth-run community organization from Bangladesh to empower youths on steemit. You can also check our Social Business Service @SocialBot to get a profitable offer for you.


Join us on Discord
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

A Youth Run Community Organization from Bangladesh
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 17.36% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

What an awesome way to go crazy! My youngest would adore your garden as much as I do, because of the sunflowers. I didn't know those facts either, so thanks for the educational tidbits. Well done with your green thumb, @simplymike!

Thanks a lot, @traciyork.

Now if only I could get the next update done.... Need to pump myself a little today

Lucky you are)) in our country the summer was cold ((

I can't complain about that... that's true :0)

I love Sunflowers😊🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Me too... they look beautiful, don't they?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99