You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RECLAIMING MY TOPSOIL

in #homesteading5 years ago

Surely you have chickens out here, yes? If so, you definitely want to be composting the floor of their coop as well. I have had insane results growing in the site of a chicken coop I moved one spring and later gardened there. I mean like holy crap I cant believe this results. Then I was given a micro farming book as a gift, and it was basically a huge premise in the book, put up chicken runs over your raised beds in winter, plant in spring. Works a charm.

Sort:  

I mix in their manure in the compost, and we are cranking out a lot!

Roger that. Eggshells too, but I suspect you knew that.

Oh?

I'd never thought to move the run and plant there... We're already composting in our chicken runs, but that would be an awesome thing to try I think...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91