We Found the Killer...

in #homesteading6 years ago

...but not before it took one last victim.

IMG_5627.JPG

A couple weeks ago, we mentioned that some creature tore apart our rabbit tractor and ate both of our rabbits. We wondered at what sort of animal could possibly rip apart wood and metal to get at the animals inside. The dog tracks near the tractor made us suspect it was a dog, but we were not certain. Until today.

This afternoon as we were walking around after lunch, Michelle looked up the hill and noticed the tan-colored back of an animal right where our white goat was standing just an hour before. The creature was hunched over and didn't take any notice of us. I knew what it was because I had seen it before: a dog that has come on our land before. The first time I saw it, I chased it (and its companion) away because they were circling our goats. This time, it was doing more than just terrorizing our goat...

Coming from the city, we were used to calling animal control for an out-of-control animal. However, after arriving on our land, we saw a large dog on our land one morning and we called the county sheriff to ask what we were in the right to do. He said, "You gotta protect what's yours. If you gotta shoot it, just don't tell nobody."

Fast forward back to today.

I have learned a lot since coming from the city, and there is a different way of life out here in the country. You gotta protect what's yours. Sadly, I was too late to protect our goat. But at least I can rest assured that that dog will not be taking any more life from our (or anyone else's) farm.

footer andrew.png

Sort:  

Its sad, but many times its the only solution.

Some years people dump so many dogs in my part of the country that I'll have to dispose of a dozen or more. They'll form packs and run cattle to death at times.

Sorry you had to, but it has to be done sometimes :(

That is crazy - a dozen or more?!? Do you have any advice on how to actually get them since you deal with them so much? I know there are more out here, too. I talked to one neighbor who said that there was someone down the road who has a big dog that they don't feed very well and just let it "forage" for food. Not sure exactly what they expect a hungry dog to do... Especially because it is not locked up!

Getting a large livestock guardian dog is a good, yet expensive start.

Practice safe shooting skills until you're able to put 3 rounds in a 3 inch circle at 100 meters with soft or hollow-point hunting rounds. While unpleasant, it will help to ensure a quick, humane kill.

Post "No Trespassing" and "Trapping" signs on your property boundaries, but DONT SET TRAPS and don't tell anyone you don't set traps. While predators can't read them, dogs owners can.

Talk with your neighbors and politely let them know that whatever happens, its not personal, you're just protecting your property.

I know it sounds harsh, but it works for me.

It went from chickens to goats?! Wow! I think you did what you had to do. I hope the rest of your animals will be safer now.

Yeah, got both our rabbits and our one Nigerian dwarf goat. Thankfully not our chickens as I just built an actual stationary coop that is quite robust. But then again, I didn't think anything would chew through the wood of the rabbit tractor!

Must have been one desperate dog. Who knows what it had been living on until it found your smorgasbord.

gosh, what a hard situation. You did what needed to be done.

There are lots of hard decisions to make out here in the country. So much more dealing with life and death. I have had more things die this year than in the entire rest of my city life combined...

There are a lot of life lessons forsure. I remember wondering how I would handle a tough situation, and if I could do the right thing when it came down to it. I is never easy and I l always cry and need a heavy shot of scotch after its all over but I've learned that I can do whatever needs doing. These hard tests have made me a much stronger person.

Wow an intense day for you! I'm so sorry to hear about your goat :( At least he/she was avenged. You've done a good thing protecting your homestead from future invasions. <3

Yeah, it was looking to be a nice restful day, and then that happened. I think the neighbor will just get another dog and do the same thing, but at least I have some time until that happens.

That is so frustrating. I am sorry you've had to go through this. I am glad you wont have to deal with this particular nuisance again.

We are just happy that we were able to catch it. It would have been terrible if it had gotten away to do the same to someone else's livestock.

You're absolutely right.

Oh no. I'm so sorry to read this. You did the right thing.

uggg that must have been hard to realize that it was a dog. I found out that my own dog was my killer and we had to rehome it. I'm glad you took care of the problem. Best of luck in the future.

That’s just the way it is sometimes. You did what needed to be done ✅

Thanks, @beatitudes. A very different life out here in the country, for sure.

Priorities are hard sometimes. This is one of them. You had no other choice.

I am just glad that we were able to get it. It would have been so much worse to just find our goat dead in the field with no sign of the perpetrator.

Oh wow, maybe that dog wasn’t getting fed enough at home.

For sure. Hungry enough for 2 rabbits and a small goat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82