Solar powered air conditioner condensation water recycler

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)


Living in the South we have alot of humidity, I have found a way to collect and recycle this water using 55 gallon barrels and a transfer pump. In the middle of the summer I will have a full barrel every few days, which I can water my plants. Or even in an emergency use it as grey water.

I have tried premade kits before but they are under powered and broke down on me. So I built my own out of a car battery, full sized 100w solar panel, and a 12v DC water transfer pump.

The solar charge controller and circuits are protected in a waterproof box. And I placed a switch on the outside of the box for easy use of the pump.

I have also added protection with use of special circuit breakers and a 30 amp fuse located at the positive terminal of the battery.

This is version 3.0 as the first was a under sized kit, my second was a small setup located in a metal box but the wires kept coming loose.

Mirror: https://bit.tube/play?hash=QmXujvFYLaVQnpRSNV2bv6gsNZAdZJkp4JBLZg9i9X7kX4&channel=74331

PlatformURL/Username
Steemithttps://steemit.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=solominer
Viulyhttps://viuly.io/r/K10856865b97e58d
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228
CryptoPanichttps://cryptopanic.com/solominer
Whaleshareshttps://whaleshares.io/@solominer
Bearshareshttps://bearshares.com/@solominer/

QmY5sp14UF7HspoFkf8A1EDERbVuaGaCo1zKtrDHrmGxbk.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the great animation


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I wish we had enough humidity to make use of something like this. Our gardens would love the extra water in summer, but our climate is so dry.

@minismallholding maybe you can collect rain then? They have some setups that tie into house gutters and will fill a 55 gallon barrell in an hour from a good rain.

Posted using Partiko Android

We do that, but it doesn't last long in summer. We can be without rain for anything from 1-3 months.

That sounds pretty arid, how about digging a well?

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! We're suburban, so I don't think that would go down very well! ;)
A lot of land holders do use bore water. They're having issues with the salt levels in some areas, though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much for this presentation, I like was exciting to see the result and it was really there, you battery powered the pump and we saw the water coming through. Just observing how you created your battery and was connecting the wires together and with all that electronic stuff, I just had to think about the movies where human is somehow appear in the abandoned area and would try to make his living better just using anything he had around. I am really glad that such people like you exist, who use the knowledge and can created with own brain and hands such constructive solution that helps you in everyday. Wonderful skills!

@stef1 glad you enjoyed the video. And it felt good to finally finished it and have it pumping water. Yeah as long as where you are has a full sized AC system. This could be built with common parts besides the solar charge controller and panels. A rain collector could work instead of a home AC unit so it's all in how you apply it.

Thanks very much, your words motivate me to build more. :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

you built that yourself?
Wow!
You one of the reason the world will be a better place, well done and keep up the good work

Sure did, spent a few hours of planning what parts I needed, and then took a few hours to build. I did my best to condense it into a short video.

Thanks so much that really warms my heart

Posted using Partiko Android

OK
That's nice
Well done

Hi solominer,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Tuesday/Early Wednesday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]

Curie---Author-Showcase---Radial-Gradient-BG.gif

@misterakpan oh that's great thanks alot, yeah it's a water pump that takes water out of a 55 gallon barrell. The water comes from our coils in the air handlers in the house. Due to their size and where I live it gives us alot of water. I also included a quick connect for a AC power inverter which I can run power tools up to a few hundred watts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting invention, my clever friend! I am so excited for your curie vote! Congratulations! It is well deserved!

@melinda010100 thanks, ever since I've seen how much water my condensation tubes let off I had to put it to use.

Yeah I was not expecting that, but pleasantly suprised. Made this post my most voted ever with over 700 upvotes.. 3 times as much as I ever gotten in the past. Really thankful.

Glad you like it, and I am glad I shared it with my steem friends.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good quality posts and well presented information deserve attention! Again, congrats!

I am convinced the people in steemit have a lot of potential. and you reaffirm my belief.

lately I have seen many steemians who share their creations and I never cease to amaze myself. great work

Thank you very much, I agree Steem has some great minds on the blockchain and I'm always happy to share my creations with others.

Posted using Partiko Android

wow this is great think Solar powered air conditioner condensation water recycler.. Nice video thanks for sharing with us..

@tussar11

Ah no problem, and glad you think its nice and enjoyed it.

Hi solominer,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

@curie

Thanks so much for the up vote and exposure to the Curie community.

Its cool you know how to do stuff like this. I see you having your own off- grid place someday.

@cosmiccrimes

Its been quite a learning experience, Ive let the smoke out a few times trying that for sure.

Yep I have big plans of a off-grid setup one day. Hoping Crypto will help to make that happen.

I’m in the same boat I’m hopping crypto will help me buy some more land.

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.544 which ranks you at #15674 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 246 places in the last three days (old rank 15920).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98