You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Big News We Are Moving!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Best wishes on your new beginning and can't wait for all the new projects. The 'off grid living' fad is a step backwards in my opinion. I want to minimize my living tasks and maximize my free time for hobbies.

Sort:  

i enjoy off grid living and found i had more free time and lots more spending money. im just not physically capable of the life any more. but we found a way to go on grid and keep our money. we got a duplex and rent one side out for the cost of the mortgage :) it even comes preinstalled with a renter :) we just have to pay gas, electric, water, sewer, and internet. so some of my spending money is gone but not much. maybe will rent out the PA cabin too eventually.

That is a great deal having a rental that covers the mortgage. You can save even more by being very shrewd on your taxes going forward. You can now write off any money spent on tools, paint, advertising, lunches, furnaces, co detectors, etc. cause all for your 'rental'. I worked with a tightwad that wrote 'everything' off against his rentals, even beer for his BBQs.

lol didnt think of that but you are right. i right off all my adventure trips my gear and expenses food etc... same thing really... addie's dad owns lamon tax services so nothing to it :) he knows all the laws for michigan and wisconsin...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65