You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pallet water tower brainstorm. Seeking advice

in #homesteading5 years ago

Hey Nate, I'd say brace the hell out of it, and you'll be fine. I'd follow @theloneisobar's suggestion and add the horizontal pallet on top. I would even add an third vertical one, connecting the two on the sides. You could place it half-way in the middle, making it look like an H from above. That way it would add maximum support. Then I'd add the cross-braces in ALL corners: along the top, and along the middle pallet, top, bottom, and middle, on both sides. (I hope this makes sense without a visual. If not, let me know and I'll draw you one.)
Sure, this way you'd lose the storage area underneath the IBC, but honestly, I'd second @josegomez1 in this regard: better safe than sorry!
One of the things I learned here in Mexico is that it's okay to use shoddy material (though your pallets don't seem that shoddy), as long as you use enough of it. One time I helped some friends build an outdoor kitchen, and my German mind was screaming inside me that we're all going to die if this flimsy building collapses... In the end there were half a dozen of us climbing around on the structure, putting the roof on, and it was stable as a monolith.

Sort:  

Yeah, the concrete blocks are the route I think I'll be taking. The wife will like it better that way too, which is something I'm trying to strive for on my projects now lol

With this patio being a place where the kids regularly play, I'd rather use the concrete. Toys will get stored where they get stored now: all over the damn place. Lol

Very good point with the outdoor kitchen. Enough bracing could probably make anything possible.

my German mind

Ahahahhahaha....

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92