Hoof trimming and goat milking stand

in #homesteading6 years ago

We needed a hoof trimming and goat milking stand, but even the cheap ones that are mass produced are >$200. This is what we ended up building instead. Most of the wood came from scrap with other projects we had going on.

milkingstand.jpg

It works!
milkingstand2.jpg

DSC02833.JPG

Sort:  

Nice!
Ive never tried to trim them on the stand. They are generally well behaved but Im worried that if they decide to act up, they could fall half way off and hurt themselves... Does it work pretty well for you?
I generally tie them to a fence, via a leash and collar, and press them up against that, and trim from there, straddling them if they dont cooperate, for more control.
Like I said, generally they are pretty good about it, but once in a while you get a butt-head who doesnt want a hoof trim...
:)

If you are worried about them falling off you could put a rail system on it. However, I haven't had a problem with them falling. I usually squat next to them and tuck my knee under the inside of the leg I'm working with because it helps to keep them steady so they don't kick and keeps them in the middle of the stand. I'm planning on doing step by step instructions on how to build a stand. If you are interested I can include how to put a rail on it. It would be something you can take off or move to either side.

That sounds really useful! A rail would be a simple way to keep them from falling off, haha.
Thanks for sharing!

Could you post the plans of how you made it?

Sure, I will draw something up and get better photos of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43