Watching my garden grow the foxes like it

in #homesteading6 years ago

So we have foxes on our land

They got into my garden. But it looks like they didn't completely destroy it just laid down in my cucumbers. But now to save my cucumbers I might need to get some supports. Now I have to get a fence up to keep them out. I don't want them destroying it or eating everything that grows. I plan to get a trail cam to set up to capture them everytime they seem to come out my dogs scare them away before I can get good photos.

20180715_174013.jpg

My sugar baby watermelons have started to fruit

I am very happy to see watermelon on the vine. I love watermelon in a few weeks this will be so yummy in my tummy. I love watermelon and even more so when I grow it myself.

20180715_174030.jpg

My tomatoes and Bell Peppers are doing great.

I have been harvesting Roma tomatoes every few days. It won't be long before I am harvesting big boy tomatoes too. Once I start harvesting enough I am going to make some homemade sauces that I will can.

20180715_174053.jpg

20180715_174104.jpg

20180715_174126_Burst01.jpg

20180715_174131.jpg

Growing food near woods has it's own set of challenges

So much wildlife is out here that I am going to have to get creative to make sure the wild life doesn't steal all my hard work. I don't mind sharing and am very aware of food sources the wildlife uses so we don't remove it. But that isn't enough for some of them and they want what is in my garden. So some gardening fencing will go up to hopefully keep the foxes out.

social media done right updated.jpg

Sort:  

I had to make raised beds (3 feet high) to keep some of the critters out! I hate it when you put in all that work and come out one morning to find it either destroyed or eaten...

This is the first time I have grown anything this close to the woods. There are some learning challenges for sure.

I am surprised, foxes usually avoid areas where dogs are. A fence (I would go electric) is your best option for sure. Tell those dogs to run 'em off, LOL!
:)

The dogs can't get to where they are at or where the garden is at and I don't need it to be electric just trying to deter them. We have woods on our property but the dogs don't have access to the whole property we have a smaller area fenced in for them but plan to expand their range soon, but we have decided not to allow them on the back half and keep it for the wildlife.
There is a family of foxes occasionally they come out of the woods and play in the yard till the dogs barking scares them back in the woods. I am pretty sure their burrow in on or near our property. Because it is a family.
I plan on getting a trail cam to see if I can't get some photos of them.

That would be nice! Your poor garden needs dog protection, LOL. a lot of fencing might help! Glad you are not feeding them! They need to remain wild, safer for them. I bet they are fun to watch! :)

Your vegetables look great! I'm only afraid of the snails here, because they eat all the young leaves of my lettuce, etc. We also have foxes here, they caused a slaughter a while ago because they killed some chickens of the neighbors!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91