Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds Arrived & Growbag Experiment Update

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2036.jpg

The season is upon us! I received my seeds from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds just in time to start my onions. I'll be starting 200 of them tomorrow in large soil blocks. Last year I tried to get away with the mini soil blocks for the onions, but they didn't grow to their full potential, so hopefully I'll have nice sized transplants when it's time to put them in the garden this spring. See my soil block tutorial here

Growbag Experiment Update

It's been 31 days since I started my first seeds in the grow bags. Not the results I had hoped for. There just wasn't enough daylight hours to support decent growth, and the lettuce and spinach became really leggy and grew slowly. I'm hoping they kick it up a notch now that the sun is staying around much longer. But if not, I'll harvest the micro greens and replant.

Lettuce

IMG_2039.jpg

Spinach

IMG_2041.jpg

Tomatoes and Peppers

My son decided that he really liked putting his hands in the soil, and completely decimated my first round of tomatoes and peppers. I had to replant a few weeks back and the tomatoes are just sprouting. The peppers should be coming up pretty soon as well.

IMG_2040.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted for free by @minibot with 5%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.

Oooh, getting itchy to sow... soaked some peas and favas today, your post reminds me to get some onions going.

I still have to wait a couple of more weeks before I get my seeds from Baker's Creek started, but I can't wait. It was my first time ordering from Baker's Creek, so I am looking forward to seeing how some of the vegetables turn out. Best of luck on starting your plants in the soil blocks!

I’ve been making paper pots all day long so I can sow all day tomorrow. Doesn’t Baker Creek have the most amazing selection? I can’t wait to have more land so I can grow more varieties things.

Your son and I share an interest in handling the dirt. But I suppose lots of us on here do! :)

Our order is just going in now (but we are still locked in snow for another month). I love just looking at the catalog and reveling in the gorgeous plants!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61