Garden Expansion Part 1: Episode 1 of my new vlog

in #homesteading6 years ago


I'm finally back Steemit! I've been super busy on the homestead and I'm excited to show you all some of what I've been up to.

Expanding into the Forest

I've been working hard at clearing a 40 x 60 garden plot that was primarily occupied by large pine trees. Throughout the years we've used this area as "dump" for all of the brush, logs, and saplings we've cut to open up our front yard. Along with all of this littered throughout the area, there were large stumps and large pine trees that needed to be cut and cleared. This, along with all my other additions and projects, has been the most ambitious endeavor we've taken on since we began homesteading. In this first part of the series, I'll walk you through how we cleaned and cleared the area with just our muscle, blood, sweat, and tears, an axe and a chainsaw.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Incredibly done!! It’s great to see the evolution of the space. Just shows that the Earth welcomes creativity. Can’t wait to see what you grow!

Great video. It will be very interesting to watch progress of the new garden over the coming months.

nice!!!!! i enjoyed the first vlog! looking forward to more! thanks for uploading and sharing the journey bro!

Good luck with the garden! I can't wait to see the rest of your videos!!

That's good work for the wintertime. From the video, it looks like your soil is pretty sandy. Do you know what your soil type is there? Nice tip about keeping that chainsaw out of the dirt! That work is a lot easier with a sharp chain! Enjoy your future garden! :D

Thanks! I pretty much live on a 200 foot sand dune. I have some bottom land that is silty sand and wet, but no clay anywhere. I’ve actually come to prefer sand, even raw sand over any other soil type. Perhaps it’s just because I’ve worked with it so much i know it so well. But I can plant earlier, and I never have any compaction. I can dig super easily, and it responds miraculously to organic matter. All my perennials love it, and most fruit and nut trees prefer it. Fertility issues with sandy soil, I haven’t experienced. The biggest downside I’ve experienced is how fast it dries out. With sandy soil mulching and no till is 100% a must. My soil is rich with mycorrhizal fungi from the forests, which they recently discovered mines sand for minerals.

With all that said, I plan on adding a lot of biochar and maybe some compost to the new area to help with water storage. Most places in this area only have an inch or so of topsoil. I’ll probably focus on legumes and biomass crops this year as well. But nightshades seem to love sand with a periodical urine boost 😜

I keep checking back to your profile hoping you will come back. hop you are good

Congratulations @theferalone! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @theferalone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55