I lost a barn 😐

in #homesteading5 years ago
So, how does one go about losing something as large as a barn? Well, it is rather easy when one has over 300 of them in the herd and without a good dog to help round them up at milking time.

Wanted.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

Followers of my blog have probably noticed I haven't posted barns from my Old Barn Project lately, and there is a good reason for that. I began the project several years ago, and have accumulated over 300 barns thus far. It was my intention to post all of my barns here, in sequence, and with a tag to the SteemitWorldMap with their exact location pinpointed.

However...

I began my Old Barn Project while caregiving full-time for my elderly parents. I was "on duty" 24-hours-per-day, 7-days-per-week for nine years. So, many of my earlier old barn photos were quickly snagged as I was driving my parents to appointments, or taking our recycling to the Recycle Center, or other such errands. The nature of taking such hurried photos in a happenstance setting leads to problems, one of which being that I don't recall with clarity exactly where some of the earlier barns are.

So, I hesitated when it came time to post Old Barns № 023 and № 024 because I couldn't remember exactly where they are located and didn't want to break my routine of posting them in sequence. I recently drove the 30–40 miles — twice! — to the area in the neighboring county where I thought the barns were located and ambled down one country road after another for two or three hours, trying to locate them. I did not have success, but the roads are a rather twisty-turny web of rural mileage and I might have been one simple left-turn-instead-of-a-right-turn from finding them again.

Therefore out of necessity, the next barn I post will be 025, and I will post the missing ones whenever I figure out where they are. I can't promise that it won't happen again, but my record-keeping began to improve after about the 65th or so barn, as conditions in my caregiving situation stabilized somewhat (although that proved to be only temporary). I will probably write about that caregiving time period at some point... so many posts to write, so little time...! 😆

dottedline.png

I HAVE A QUESTION for @martibis and @blueorgy, the founders of the fabulous SteemitWorldMap project. I posted two of the barns in my Old Barn Project before becoming aware of the SteemitWorldMap. I attemted to add them later by posting the requisite string in a comment, but that did not seem to work, nor does there seem to be a way to add a paid-out post to the world map. Is there some way to add those two entries? Thanks for letting me know!

dottedline.png

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

TKG-PinkFooter.png

a big hug to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

At the moment we do not allow this, as it is risky for abuse, and would mess up our curation platform as well. It's something that has been requested several times though. So I might have to change it! The easiest work around in my opinion is creating a post where you deny rewards and at the Steemitworldmap code in there!
Hope it helps!

Posted using Partiko Android

That is good to know, and a great work-around! THANK YOU for the rapid response! 😃
I so love your SteemitWorldMap project! 💛

You're very welcome! And thank you
In a few months a new app version will launch as well, but it's still a bunch of work, haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

I hope ya find em hun, I know that's one of your passions. Gotta be somewhere.

Posted using Partiko Android

I just had to come and see if your "barn" is the same as my "barn" even though the picture did indicate it :D
I hope you find them all :)

Hello, what an interesting material! I hope you can get and sort these granaries !! regards!!

Your title really got me curious, luckily the 'barn' is not the actual BARN... Hahaha...

There are many times we'll just load up into the car and go for a ride. We take the dog, get some drinks and munchies in the cooler and will drive for hours up and down dirt/back roads and enjoying he old barns, the fields of corn for as far as you can see and admiring the old farmhouses.

Good luck finding your barns! Oh, I have such a bad sense of direction, I would never find it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95