OLD BARN № 013

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)
Situated in the countryside of Anderson County, South Carolina, this beautiful clapboard barn is still maintained in relatively good condition. I rather hate to pick favorites among all the barns I've photographed, but this is definitely one of mine!

OldBarn-013.jpg
• OLD BARN № 013, FRONT, PHOTO BY ME •

Years ago, my mother was placed in a Hospice House because she seemed to be in a terminal condition. My father and I drove 45-minutes each way to visit her very single day for a month. After a couple of weeks, she began to rebound under their palliative care, thankfully, and was discharged a couple of weeks later. This barn was a daily sight for me as I drove my blind father to visit Mom. I wish he could have seen this barn, too, and all the other scenery along the way.


source: networx.com
Notice how the siding of this barn is horizontal, and how the top of each board is tucked under the next board above it. That is what makes this a "clapboard" type of siding, which is common in many simple structures such as barns, houses, as well as old churches and schools. The overlapping of the siding allows rain to wash off, and the siding is usually painted to further improve water-resistance and discourage damage by termites.

OldBarn-013b.jpg
• OLD BARN № 013, BACK, PHOTO BY ME •

Because of the presence of a perfectly manicured lawn around the barn, I doubt that it is still being used, at least not for farming purposes. To the right of the barn is a lovely little red brick house, and to the right of that is a fenced-in field with a newer barn and bales of hay, so I suspect Old Barn № 013 is being maintained for historical or sentimental reasons.

OldBarn-013gmaps.jpg
• SCREENSHOT FROM GOOGLE MAPS, "STREET VIEW" •

I hesitated to catalogue the newer barn shown on the right in the above photo since it was a new barn and not an old barn. So, I proceeded to snag pics of barns 014, 015, etc. I finally relented and will show it later, when it comes up in the sequence. 😁

I will now leave you with an alternate processing of my photo of Old Barn № 013.

OldBarn-013p.jpg
• OLD BARN № 013, ALTERNATE PROCESSING, PHOTO BY ME •

ThanksForReading.png 😊

!steemitworldmap 34.586958 lat -82.635349 long Anderson County, SC D3SCR

SeeOtherPosts--Barns.png

Sort:  

Great shots and story too. Theres something kind of romantic about those old buildings.

Thank you for the lovely comment! 😊

Beautiful shots...as always. I love the memory you shared with us. I'll bet you were so happy to have your Mom back home with you.

Actually, she was not able to return home, as it was Alzheimer's that she had. My father and I cared for her, ourselves, in their home for a year before this happened, and she needed more specialized care than we could provide, so she was discharged from Hospise into a skilled nursing facility. Still, my father visited her every day until his health prevented that. I will definitely write a post telling the whole story at some point. Thanks for the comment!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you for the resteem! 😊

That reminds me of a barn down the road from where I grew up at, loaded a lot of hay into the top of that barn at the Lazy J Ranch. Thanks for the memory recall.

Awesome, that it reminds you of a barn from your childhood! I heard the boys say that hoisting bales of hay up into the loft was a lot of hard work. I'm not sure what the average bale of hay weighs, but I am sure it puts a strain on the muscles after a while, even if one is using a block-and-tackle setup! One of the boys showed me a special knot they used on the rope, which was quick-to-tie, secure, and quick to untie later. I still use that knot today on various things. LOL! Thanks for your comment!

Depending on the brand of hay baler those bales ranged in weight from about 60 to 75 pounds usually. Those barns are hot up in the hay loft and not much ventilation, plus they hay is "itchy" with all the shaft that comes off it and sticks to your sweaty skin.

JUST love these old barns!
So full of history and rich with stories of days gone by

Thank you so much for the comment! 😊

I love your old barn pictures... I see this one is related with a personal story. I really like you picked such a topic, have you ever thought of putting them all together in a gallery?

Thank you! I am so glad you like the barn pictures! Most of my barn photos are already posted together in galleries on other sites (like Flickr, Facebook, & Tumblr), but there is not a detailed write-up about each one, as I am doing here as I put them on the blockchain. Thanks for your comment, dear lady!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekittygirl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=old-barn-013


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks like a house from the old movie!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97