OLD BARN № 035, 036, & 037

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)
As I reported in my last Old Barn Project post, the exact locations of a few of my earlier Old Barn photos were not adequately documented, sadly, because of my hectic life situation at the time. This post recaps three more such barns, all lovely, but their locations elude me, much to my dismay. I think all three are probably located somewhere along US Highway 178 in either northern Anderson County or southern Pickens County in South Carolina (US).

OldBarn03515color.png

OLD BARN № 035:
I really like this barn with its wonderfully weathered wood! A little goat also posed for me near the barn, adding to the charm of this shot. The old frame farmhouse in the background is quite a striking finishing touch to the scene!

OldBarn03615color.png

OLD BARN № 036:
With the enormous white doors, I imagine this barn is probably used, in part, for housing a large tractor or other farm equipment. The lean-to extension on the back side could be used for additional storage, or as stables for farm animals.

OldBarn03715color.png

OLD BARN № 037:
This barn has great symmetry, with an open, lean-to shelter on both sides and larger doors like the last barn has. With the equipment parked nearby, I feel sure this barn is part of a "working farm" with fields probably beyond the tree-line behind the barn.

I do hope I can locate these barns again some day and make a careful notation of where they are! If I do, perhaps I can pause longer and get clearer shots. Not only have I driven through the area multiple times in search of them, but I have also spent much time looking at the aerial view on Google and Bing Maps, trying to spot them.

On one such aerial-photo scanning session, I spied a field with some curious — and pretty! — marks in it, apparently made by a tractor as it was mowing the field. I've never seen such lovely turns in the corners!

image.png
SCREENSHOT FROM GOOGLE MAPS, ENHANCED TO SHOW DETAIL

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

curlydivider.png

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png
02-Jun-2019

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Love these pictures. I'm always taking pictures of old buildings. Will be posting some later today 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

U sure that last one isn't crop circles?! Jk. Lol. Very picturesque photos

How nice to insert the google maps screenshot look at the waves in the field. Gotta go out photographing an old used barn from here !

Howdy thekittygirl! I love old barns too, growing up on a big farm I used many of them and then living in Kentucky it was rich with them, these are really wonderful!

Hey @thekittygirl! I loved your photos, the effect you used is really cool.
😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59