Signs

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)
As one drives around the rural portions of the southern US, one sometimes finds interesting bits of kitsch leftover from bygone days. Perhaps that is true for other areas of the country as well? One day while driving around looking for old barns to photograph for my Old Barn Project, I was delighted to find this shed adorned with old metal signage.

The iconic Coca Cola sign takes center stage. I clearly remember seeing Shell Oil Company and Pure Oil Company signs when I was a child, perched atop poles at gasoline stations. I also remember Standard Oil, but with a different logo. The Polaris and Atlantic brands elude my memory, though, or perhaps they were more prevalent in other areas of the country than where I was raised.

Signs.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

I find it exciting that someone is displaying /preserving this part of our history, and I am sure many people who drive past remember those signs and the companies behind them. It's also fun to see such quirky and colorful signs decorating the landscape in unexpected locations.

This particular landowner has gone much further, however, as seen in the below screenshot from Google Maps "Street View" of the area. There is a Phillips 66 sign hanging from a pole in the exact manner that I remember signs hanging when I was a child. I have no clue what's at the base of that sign, though — it almost looks like the head of a lion, or a gargoyle! LOL! Then there are a couple of automobiles, one of them rather old, under a shelter which sports another Coca Cola sign and an awesome antique gas pump!

None of this was visible the last time I passed by — probably was overgrown with weeds, which has been cleared — and the shed I originally photographed has been moved further away from the road (the fence in front of the shed in the above photo can be seen in the lower-left of the following photo). The resulting scene almost looks like the start of a small, rustic village. 😊

Signs--gmaps.jpg
• SCREENSHOT FROM GOOGLE MAPS "STREET VIEW" •

Less than a half-mile (800m) down the road is another tract of land with similar kitsch. I wonder if the two families are related, whether there was a desire to out-do the neighbors, or whether imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Most of the many outbuildings on this second property each sport a sign, plus there is an old frame saw, a derrick-style pump mechanism, a statue of a horse rearing back on two legs, a vintage gas pump on the porch of the house, two old metallic milk cans from a dairy farm, and many other items.

Kitsch.png
• SCREENSHOTS FROM GOOGLE MAPS "STREET VIEW" •

ThanksForReading.png 😊

!steemitworldmap 34.974173 lat -82.682318 long Pickens County, SC D3SCR

incisel--PINK.png

a big hug to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

It's really interesting to come across these little "bits and pieces" of what's basically forgotten Americana... not far from here, we have the remnants of the "Jesus is Lord" service station and tire re-tread workshop... feels a bit like a trip to the 1940's.

Well, that transported me to another time and place...

Whenever I visit places like this my mind races with the many people's lives that were lived out and what dreams they held, etc.

By the way, I really love that you put the longitude and latitude location!


Blissful blessings and smiles

in joy

Nathan

NK

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekittygirl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=signs


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wonderful nostalgic road trip...reminds us that nothing is permanent as many companies no longer exist....and something about the look of old gas pumps that fascinate me...If money were no object...would set one up in my back yard for kids to play with and make it pump water....

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

I love old barns. You did well with this. Thanks for sharing.

#steemitbloggers

Was half expecting to see the Beverley Hillbillies wandering in the street view... :)

Love these types of old Americana. When I had television I always watched the picker. Happy I found you. New follower here. 🐓 #steemitbloggers

I love these lovely old artefacts that don't get lost and pop up from time to time all over the show. Seems that the retro is now quite fashionable in certain places, too. Thanks for sharing with #steemitbloggers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60