You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pallet water tower brainstorm. Seeking advice

I would place a third pallet across the top that is constructed from hardwood and screw into the vertical pallets. Then put cross braces on all 4 corners like this which will stop lateral movement.
DSC_0600.JPG
Would be worthwhile securing the vertical pallets to the ground too which could be as simple as hammering pegs on either side of the pallets, or building a frame around the base which could be bolted to the vertical pallets.

Sort:  

Super braces! That was kind of my thinking too, though I hadn't thought of the pegs, I can see how those would help.

I think I'm going to change my plan, save my pennies, and go with pillars of concrete blocks. It can be done for about $25 if I buy new materials from the retail store. Less if I can buy someone's leftovers.

Alternatively, cement in the ground 4 hardwood posts, then use the hardwood supports from the pallets to form the frame at the top of the posts to hold the tank. Cost you about the same amount but wont go anywhere! Will still need the corner braces however to stop lateral movement. Use quick set cement if you want to complete in a single day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85