“HomesteadingChallenge” #4 - Pizza Oven, My Bucket List ItemsteemCreated with Sketch.

Without a doubt, if I had to pick one attainable bucket list item for the homestead, it would be an outdoor pizza oven. I have admired these ovens ever since I saw one used in Europe years ago. The only thing holding me back, is the site I want to build it on. I have to be able to drive over the spot until other projects are completed. After that, it's on!
Outdoor Pizza.jpg
Image Source

I am pretty excited to write about my imaginary pizza oven, haha. @kiaraantonoviche inspired me with her bucket list challenge. I guess the good part about not getting everything you want, is that you get time to dream about and research your options.

So with my desire for a pizza oven came lots of questions. If I hired someone to build one for me, I'd never have researched it and would have probably been happy with what I got. But that's not the case here. I much prefer to do things myself. It brings me a huge sense of accomplishment and gives me fun things to dream and think about.

Sorry to say, none of these photos are mine, as I have no oven yet, but they sure help with the dream.

I've considered cob, brick, stone, cement and combinations there of.
Stone Oven.jpg
Image Source

If I choose cob, would I need to build a structure over it, to protect it from the elements?
Structure Over Cob Oven.jpg
Image Source

Depending on the materials used and the total weight, do I need to pour a foundation to build upon? I'd hate to have it shift and crack after all that work.

What do I construct the base from? Block, wood, metal or poured concrete?
Block Base.jpg
Image Source

How big do I want it? It has to be comfortable to reach inside without feeling like I have to crawl in to fetch my pizza.

What height do I want it to sit at for ease of use?
What Height.jpg
Image Source

Then there is the whole do I buy a kit or build my own from scratch using some help from YouTube videos?

Do I want it shaped like a square with an arched roof or a circle with a domed roof?
Square Oven design.jpg
Image Source

Do I want it shaped like an igloo, so that there is an entry way/mini tunnel or do I want the door to be part of the actual dome and forego the addition?
Igloo Oven 2.jpg
Image Source

Do I want to add insulation to help retain the heat? What do I use to insulate it, recycled, repurposed items or purchase it?
Igloo Oven.png
Image Source

Do I just want a base for the oven or do I want to incorporate a table extension?
Solid Base.jpg
Image Source

Do I want fire brick only on the base or create the entire dome out of it?
Fire Brick Oven.jpg
Image Source

What do I make the chimney out of? Cob, block, clay tile or furnace pipe?

Do I want to build a solid pedestal/base or one that is hollowed out for wood storage? If I choose wood storage, then how do I gain access? On the front only or front and rear?

Do I want the door on hinges or removable? What do I want to make it out of, wood or metal?
Wood Door.jpg
Image Source

Who would have thought there would be so many decisions to make before building a "simple" pizza oven? As you can see, my dream pizza oven requires some careful thought and preparation. I mean it is a bucket list item, so I've just about talked myself into going with the Mack Daddy of them all, this metal hinged door, tada.
Metal Oven Door 1 - .jpg
Image Source

Maybe I'll put that fancy dancy door on a superb specimen of a pizza oven like this (can you imagine).
Fancy Oven.jpg
Image Source

You know how one thing leads to another. If I'm going this far, why not just build an outdoor kitchen and incorporate the pizza oven under the same roof? Good grief, I better stop now before I add a gazebo to the mix.
Onward in Strength!
Mary Lotus

Sort:  

I can't wait to build it. Who knows what I'll cook in that thing. I know one thing, pizza parties are awesome!

WITHOUT a doubt!!! The best idea!
I could eat pizza every day for every meal and never tire of it!

Why stop at pizza? I've been hungry ever since writing this. I was thinking of all the breads I could make. That crisp exterior, yum, yum. Heck, I bet baked potatoes would be outta this world.

I would say building your own from scratch would be more rewarding and possibly even more cost effective. that's my two cents! now a gazebo around the thing would protect it from the elements and be the icing on the cake. I know if only money wasn't a factor. keep us updated when ever you break ground on this project.

I'm sure doing it myself would be more affordable, unless I went full on deluxe everything, lol. That gazebo is sounding better and better all the time.

Awesome! You've been entered into the challenge, thank you!

Yay! I'm so exciting to read of others bucket list items. Who knows, I might get some new ideas and have to add them to mine as well.

I love all of the variations! Some friends build one in their back yard and love it!

I had no clue there were so many variations until I started researching how to build one. From super simple like cob to total extravagance. I'm leaning more towards simple with lots of wood storage on the bottom.

Now I want a pizza owen. Love how you take your time and really consider your options!

I guess I know who'll be adding a pizza oven to her bucket list, haha.

mm good idea! I love me some pizza. The best I have is a pizza stone right now, but a real brick oven would sure be an improvement! xD

Can you just image some fresh bread being baked in that thing?

I'm so excited about these ovens. This is totally going on my bucket list also. You have so much fun research here. Thank you.
Now my wife and I are dreaming of baking pizzas in the back yard garden.
What a fun project.

These are such awesome things. Perfect for entertaining, but so much more. Now you'd have a backup Plan B in case you lost electric/gas. Who else around would have a backup oven?

Oh, I didn't even think of the practical part of it being a plan B.

This is such a cool idea. I might have to pull up my old brick path and re-purpose it.

While there are a lot of options, the idea is winner no matter what!

So true! Regardless of what I choose, in the end I'll have a great pizza oven.

Wow...that was amazing!

Cook sweet rice cake for me please..

I bet you could build a pizza oven and have cooking parties. Yum, sweet rice, I love it!

I just love an native and old way of cooking im starving now..😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67807.13
ETH 3791.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72