Chicken Butchering With Fellow Steemians

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

During our time at @mericanhomestead we had the opportunity to butcher chickens. Since we raise chickens and butcher them here on the homestead we were familiar with the process, but couldn't turn down the opportunity to learn tips and tricks from a fellow homesteader. We had the option to either pluck or skin our chickens. We almost always choose to skin because it is so much easier, especially when you are doing a large batch.

Here is @jacoblesterread butchering his chicken. @mericanhomestead had a really nice cone for us to use.
DSC01282.JPG

@jal627 getting ready to butcher!
DSC01288.JPG

@greenerpastures is dunking her chicken in boiling water. This makes plucking much easier.
DSC01306.JPG

@boyd7 and @humblebeets preparing to skin their chickens.
DSC01310.JPG

I just realized I didn't get a picture of a finished chicken. However, I got an awesome picture of some of the chicken feet. Now, I know many people throw these away, but they are LOADED with nutrition. I peel them, clean them really good (I generally pull the nails off), and then simmer them in water (you can add veggies if you'd like). They make such delicious, nutritious, healing broth.
DSC01326.JPG

Sort:  

Never done this myself but I have been learning, maybe one day I'll have my own chickens! A friend of mine said that years back when they killed and prepared multiple chickens at one time, he said that because of the smell he didn't want to see or eat chicken for weeks! I never really asked him but to you what kind of smell is there from processing the chickens?

I am wondering if when your friend butchered he ruptured the bowels because I have not noticed a smell different than when you open up a package of chicken from the store. I've butchered quite a few chickens and the only smelly part would be if you accidentally cut into the bowels. However, maybe there was another determining factor for him that caused the smell.

It's honestly super easy to butcher chickens, especially if you skin them. :)

I know those feet make great stock but I can't get Jaimie to ever use them....do you see what those chickens step in everyday!!!???? LOL

You peel them first and I always cut off their last knuckle with the nail. A friend's farm down here has their chickens processed professionally so they can sell them at Farmer's Markets and such. They have the feet processed separately and sell them. I went to their farm last week and purchased several packages of chicken feet to make stock with. It makes an extremely nutritious broth! I picked some up to boost nutrition throughout pregnancy. Also, we have a purebred Great Pyrenees due for puppies in about 3 weeks, so I plan to make some broth for her as well to ensure healthy puppies for us to sell!

I learn so much from you! I hope I can return the favor come foaling season.

actually very good work,,,......

A great time was had by all! This is where REAL food comes from! Great job guys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62199.58
ETH 3014.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57