A Pause in Work

The plan for today was to finish off the new garden on the South side of the greenhouse. I wanted to fence it to keep the deer out and I'm not too concerned about wild rabbits, but they would have to be determined to get through the fencing. Or bored enough to dig under the fence since I'm more concerned about height with our deer bedding down in the local trees. Yes I say OUR deer since the buggers have a target on their back. They bed in my woods, they eat my unprotected peas and beans, and once they cleared out a 2 acre garden of sunflowers and buckwheat in one night. The next day was our visit from the USDA NRCS for a potential grant for said greenhouse. She tried not to laugh at our lost work, but she still marked us down as growing something for two years previous as is stipulated in the requirements. She said the important thing is we planted it, even if they were all nubs at that point.
Yesterday I got all my t and u posts up around the garden and started the raised beds since I need the hubbie to help me with the fencing. We took apart the old meat chicken pen and are reusing the 6 foot tall chicken fencing. Alas it is not to be today since the sky decided to dump a flood of rain and a small amount of sleet on us.
20180616_105157.jpg
It seems the old kids' dressers and bit of carpet from the hallway are now soaked before we could take them to their new 'home' as in the burn pile.
20180616_105203.jpg
My dried out and pass date onions are now soaked making it more critical to get them to the compost pile. At least my empty trays got a good wash and my nasturtiums are looking awesome!
I had hoped to finish my raised beds and plant the white, red, and purple potatoes today. My cherry and patio tomatoes, onions, and more peas and beans were going to be added, but oh woah is me... my plans did not go according to.... plan. At least I have plenty of projects inside to keep me busy. Tho homemade gluten free chocolate cake and cookies sound reeeeeally good right about now.
Stupid rain mumbles under breath
At least my iris and lilies got watered.
20180608_134239.jpg
I finished weeding them the other day and added some rose colored pansies and peach bonnet alyssum. I love pansies and alyssum. And when they're done being pretty, I can add my pansies to a salad!
Now I am really hungry. Goes off to make some baked goodness of delight

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-16T16:29:21
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 887.45/200.00
Total Photos: 138
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

hahahahahaha you are quite comical! I chuckled a few times while reading this! Thanks for sharing your garden and life with me! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54