Grafting Mango

6F418675-0660-488D-AC57-7AB74FB2E370.jpeg

This is my first attempt at a side cleft graft of a PPK mango onto a seedling. I think I was a little sloppy but also think it may take. Only time will tell. Will update when I know!

Sort:  

Some tender love and care is all it need.

So you just combined 2 strains of mango for them to grow up as a tree bearing 2 kinds of mango? Am I understanding this correctly?

I’m taking a seedling (mango grown from seed) and grafting on really great tasting budwood so that the grated wood begins to flush out new growth. Then I cut off the other stem from the seedling and that’s how a lot of people graft good varieties. Much cheaper than buying a whole good mango tree. Something I must mention: mangos are not ‘true to seed’. This mean that even if you have the seed of a really delicious variety, it’s not guaranteed that the tree from the seed will produce mangos that taste as good as the mango whose seed you planted. This is why so many people graft.

Hope you will collect some juicy fruits!

Congratulations @vegansilverstack! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71