First baby of the year.

in #homesteading6 years ago

My cell phone goes off, it's a text from @fishyculture, CALF COME NOW. What? I thought we had a couple weeks before the babies started showing up. First one can come anytime right? Heifers are so unpredictable. Their first calf, anything can happen. So many thoughts run through your head. I've worked a few cattle ranches and I know how rough it can be. Sometimes they have trouble giving birth and have to have the help of a come along to help deliver. Sometimes the mother won't have anything to do with the new calf. Have you ever tried to milk a range cow for colostrum? In the first few minutes it looked like Mama was having nothing to do with this little creature wobbling around following her. She kept backing away. @fishyculture jumped in old blue and headed for town for replacer milk just in case. I stood watch at the top of the pasture, with a pair of binoculars. Wanting to just give them time to get used to one another. That baby was very persistant and finally Mamas voice changed to a low loving moo and in a little awhile, the baby was enjoying it's first meal.
I think the kids, @longsilver and @fishyculture were up every 4 hours in the night to go out and make sure everyone was doing okay. One more heifer to go! I hope she delivers as easily as her sister. I hope everyone is okay this morning and that the night was uneventful. I asked what they were going to do if they had to bring the calf in on the back porch to keep it warm during the night, they said they were gonna use my electric blanket! I would give up my binki for a baby calf. :)

new baby.JPG

Sort:  

Baby cows are the cutest! I can't wait to come up and see them.

Yes they are! Both Mama and baby are resting nicely. It was a big day yesterday. First 48 hours seems to be the most critical. Hope the weather holds. Be glad to see ya!

The girls are going to go ape-shit lol!

I just love seeing those grandkids on the homestead. They love their farm animals.

@longsilver, I just love seeing those Grands! When they coming again?

yay, congrats on the new baby! we had a heifer one year, when i was a teenager, that totally ignored her calf - so i bottle fed him. named him norman, oh man he was so adorable. 😁

I've seen rejection happen, it's sad for sure. There are ways to try and force the bonding, but we are not set up for that. Those babies are so cute. You can't help but fall in love instantly

Awww Norman 😍

Brings back memories of my time as a child when all our holidays and long weekend would be visiting the uncles farm such great memories and thanksfor triggering them

Tip!

I grew up in the midwest on a hog ranch. Dad raised feeder pigs. We had sows you could put a saddle on and ride. I got to be Dads right hand girl, during my childhood. Rather muck out stinky stalls than do dishes. lol

Sheep and cattle where what I was used to but they did have a few pigs on the farm as well, but I do not seem to remember any big enough to put a saddle on
Those were the days

perhaps being 4'8 made them seem that big. :) I did grow some over the years

Good point and I think the pigs ther enever lasted to to long

That is a good part of why fishy and I homestead, memories for the grandkids. Thanks for all your support @tattoodedjay. We really appreciate all you are doing.

That’s great what your doing
And just doing what I feel is right

Hi @warpedweaver! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.03 SBD @tipU from @tattoodjay :)

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Taqueria St Marks Place Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Thank you! every little bit helps. I love @tatoodjays photos. Have been following him around for several days. I'm his favorite plankton. lol just kidding!

Yayyy! Congratulations! Best of luck on the next calving!

@squishysquid, we are still waiting, trying to be patient. LOL Hopepfully today!

Ooo I hope so! I feel your pain, baby watch can be so frustrating! Can't they just tell us, "it's today!" "Or it wont be till next week!"
Stinkin animals... ;)

She is starting to raise her tail every now and again. I believe that is a sign of pain in labor. I hope she delivers safely and that she lets the baby nurse. That's always my biggest fear. An abandoned baby. Even in animals, some are not meant to be parents.

Oh good! Hopefully soon then!
I know what you mean, that is my first concern, getting mama to care for those babies! Our goats are all pretty good mamas, but once in a while, they reject a baby for who knows what reason.
Almost every single time this happens though, the baby doesnt make it anyway. Seems something was wrong with it and the mother knew there was no point in prolonging its death...
Maybe it would be kinder to just let them die, but still, I just have to try...

I would try also. I raised a couple dozen bummer lambs while working the lambing sheds one year. Some do make it. I always hope this is the one. :)

I know what you mean!

Did you see @fishyculture video of the baby born yesterday?

Ooohhhh baby calf!! Congrats all of you:) I am glad the delivery went well <3

@karenfoster we have one more to deliver. She is getting closer. Hope she has it today, the weather has been so mild.

Fingers crossed for you! Wishing for a safe delivery and happy baby❤

it always make me so nervous with the heifers. You just hope they deliver easily and love their baby.

Loved hearing this happy ending story. Hope you might get some more shots of the newby. Baby animals are my kryptonite.

I bet @fishyculture will post more. She is the real proud great grandparent. :) It was curled up in the hay last evening. So cute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59