Deer Trail Camera Photos 2017

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Here are a few selected trail camera photos from my wood lot property.

(please note these photos are not in chronological order)

image.png

I currently have six (6) trail cameras, but only put out three (3) this past fall.
I made open faced bird houses to screw each camera to to protect the cameras from rain and snow.
They are painted brown to blend in with the surroundings and just need one screw to attach to the tree.

The land is a combination of oak, red pine and prairie grass.
This land has been in my family for almost 60 years as my grandfather bought it, then split it amongst my father and his brothers, then I aquired a generous portion.

There are areas that I call the "No Go Zone" where I limit human traffic to provide a bedding area or safe zone for deer.
The cameras get placed near the outer edges of their trails during the fall.

Normally, there are two (2) dominant does that remain on the property, and provide 3 to 4 fawns each year.

Mid summer, I placed a camera over a water hole and caught 4 small bucks together one day.
So nearing fall, I was aware there were bucks, but not any of "size".

The next photo is actually a screen shot of a video.
This camera was set to video for a few weeks during the rut.
I learned a lot about the movement of the animals, but the video mode burns up the batteries faster.

image.png

As a deer hunter, I have a rule that there is no recreational traffic after November 01.
I don't allow nature walks, firewood cutting or all terrain vehicle riding right before the first full moon of November approaches.
Foot traffic is limited to checking the cameras and hunting only.

I enjoy deer hunting as a year round interest.
Wildlife and wood lot management of the property is very enjoyable for me.
There is also squirrels, coyote, grouse, raccoons, fischers, and an occasional goose that flies over.

image.jpeg

My favorite time of the year is fall.
I enjoy the bow hunting season, where my weapon of choice for the last few years is the crossbow.
I don't enjoy the firearm season, but still participate just to be in the woods and deter any trespassers.

I have four (4) ladder stands, and four (4) ground blinds, one is built on a trailer for mobility.

My wife and I don't like the taste of venison, so I don't shoot just to shoot something.
I am not a trophy hunter either, however, I only harvest mature bucks, when the opportunity presents itself.

image.png

When I decide to hunt, I take the weather into consideration. Each stand location is based on wind direction.
If the wind is "wrong" for that particular day, I will not hunt. I don't like to burn out my presence in the woods.

I also enjoy hunting during the late season. It is pretty when there is snow on the ground, plus I love the solitude.
The thought that nobody is around for miles (that I'm aware of) besides the wildlife is very soothing.
Unfortunately, the past few weeks has been very cold so I ended my hunting New Year's Day, and removed my last camera and the blind heaters a few days ago.

image.jpeg

I will most likely begin snooping on the does in March when I become curious as to how many does are pregnant and living on the property.

image.jpeg

The next photo was taken when I was at a Christmas party with my family.
You can probably guess, is was not happy that I missed seeing this buck walk through that evening.

image.jpeg

My hope is that you enjoyed my photos and little piece of my world.
Thank you.

Sort:  

Aren't those animals d-e-e-r?

Great pictures!

What model of camera do you have?

Thanks.
I have 5 WildGame Innovations cameras. Two are the Terra 10 series.
I didn't put up the older models that take C size batteries this year.

My son-in-law gave me a Browning mini 10 series for Xmas.
It was too flipping cold here so I didn't put it out.
The SIL doesn't know much and told me the salesman tried to sell him a cellular remote email camera.
Darn!

I also forgot to mention that I mount the camera to an "open front" birdhouse to protect my cameras.
I just screw the house to the tree and the camera stays dry.

@fixedbydoc, I used cedar siding and made the "birdhouse" type surround with the roof extended a bit.

I had a couple cameras get ruined by the rain.
Mostly from moisture getting in the motion sensor.

It is easier to position and screw it to a tree too.

Nice shots...

These are awesome pics! We often wondered what travels in the woods and fields all around us at night. We had bears not far from us but never in our field that we have seen. Some hunters around us hunt but they donate the deer meat to local food pantry places .

i hear big foot follows the diyw around ;)

here is a $0.38 upvote for having a bigger buck than i do... just had to show up my trail cam photos lol...

@fixedbydoc. Thanks Doc. I got the motivation from you!

:) gonna do a bikini snow angel next ???

@fixedbydoc, I'll leave that to you!

awe come on do it :)

@fixedbydoc, I'll leave that to you!

awesome trail cam pictures

Wonderful pictures! Your camera is awesome!

One question: why do you not like venison? Did someone make it once wrong or serve you tainted meat? Some deer taste like pine-sol from what they eat. Corn fed deer taste wonderful, but need to be cooked properly.

@watchfulmomma, No bad experiences. I just don't care for the "gamey" taste.
I'll eat it, but prefer elk.
The deer here have access to cornfields, food plots, acorns and browse.

I don't have the mentality of say someone like....Troy R. where I need to "fill a freezer".
If I get an opportunity to harvest a deer, most would go to my parents, and I would take some too.
I did pass on several does this year. My nephew shot his first deer, a doe, during the firearm season.

I'd like to think I have some discipline while hunting.
I was aware there is 4 large mature bucks, but they were nocturnal.
The hunters surrounding my property did not get one either this year.

Seeing one of those four was my goal.

Thanks for the interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49