The Winter Freeze, Making Chicken Noodle SoupsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago

Wow, it sure is cold!

The end of 2017 has brought with it a deep freeze from the Arctic, blowing down to the Mid West with a fury.

So what is there to do?
Keep warm for one.

With the wood stove burning firewood that was cut, split and dried earlier this year,
it helps to bake or cook to add some heat to the house.

This guy doesn't bake, so......

What better way than to make a pot of homemade chicken noodle soup.

I like to use chicken thighs in my soup.

The dark meat tastes better in my opinion.
Our store of choice lately for meat products is Costco.
Living in a rural area, I am fortunate to have a large meat market in town,
but my wife and I don't care for the meats or even hamburger locally.
We've had surprisingly good luck with Costco.

Anywho, after boiling the chicken, I add vegetables grown from my garden.
White potatoes, (even though I live in an agricultural area, and potatoes are cheap here, plus I like to grow Whites)
I usually buy Russets for bakers.

Onions, carrots, green beans, peas, and corn.

I don't grow corn anymore though.
It's easier to buy sweet corn at the end of summer and process it myself.
I usually buy about 10 dozen (or a gunny sack full as they say round these parts) boil to blanch, cut them from the cob, bag single servings and freeze.

Finally I add egg noodles and sometimes a little rice.
My wife would rather I skip the rice.

A big pot of chicken noodle soup doesn't last but a week here.

So freezing some soup for later is futile.

Stay warm folks.
Enjoy your soup!

Sort:  

Sounds wonderful, enjoy!

Yeah... too cold outside for anyone! Even my 100-lb chocolate has taken refuge inside for the last two days.

Things to do on a day like this... YES! Homemade soup... fresh baked bread (gotta dunk every last drop of chicken broth) and adding more wood to the fire.

Stay warm! I know I am... I am hibernating in my office.

Yes, staying warm.

I just let my black lab/ border collie mix out.
Thankfully, she doesn't stay out long.

Thanks for stopping by!

I have 2 black ones that look at me and say "You want us to go where?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59