Getting rid of "STUFF"!

HOW DO YOU DETERMINE WHAT IS A TREASURE TO KEEP?

For the past several years I have gone thru so much of the stuff we have and have set aside stuff for different ones that I know someone would enjoy and perhaps treasure some of the memories related to them.

Some stuff holds a value only to the ones that lived it, others might just see the dollar signs in relation to it.
Not having grandparents of my own as I grew up has left a large gap in my life as to memories to hang on to or treasures to pass on.

My husbands Grandmother Nanny welcomed me in with open arms and I learned so much from her and treasure the short years I had with her.

Out of the houseful of stuff from Nannys, I only have 3 great memories to treasure, the family pictures that I have not found in all the boxes, her set of pressure cookers (what I will hold on to) and the quilt her grandmother made (yup holding on to that also), there is enough stuff to house 3 families.
So this is the year I have set aside to go thru it all and just make it happen unless I wish to move to a McMansion to house it all (yup I am not doing that!)

Nanny's treasures
P1190508.JPG

Sites Nanny visited and kept plates from along with hundreds of pictures... I sometimes wonder in looking at all the stuff and pictures "if" she lived to just enjoy the moment instead of having pictures and things from the places...

WHAT DO YOU TREASURE?

DO YOU ALSO TAKE THE TIME TO JUST LIVE IN THE MOMENT?

Come chime in and chat!

Sort:  

Hi friend, I am soo sentimental and also treasure the things my late relatives passed onto me. Now I don't know if my children will appreciate them as I do or will they get sent to a charity shop. They know the history of them but they never knew the previous owners. I too have no idea of the value of any of them, and I still don't want to know.

Yup not sure my kids will want a bunch of old antiques, they are into all the modern stuff...

Between my husband and I, I am the tosser and he is the saver. When it comes to treasures, I only try to keep just a couple things that really hold a lot of meaning. If it’s something that would merely just “be nice to hold on to,” then it’s out.
I notice I have been getting a lot better about living in the moment these days, well.. at least in the more “special” moments.

If I left this up to hubby we would be living in the McMansion already from all the stuff...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87