#homesteadingchallenge Steemit HomesteadingChallenge 1steemCreated with Sketch.

Steemit HomesteadingChallenge #1

“Homesteading is important to me because…”

I feel that homesteading is important to me because of the state of affairs the world is in today. The food that is sold to us in supermarkets today, are processed to the point of no nutritional value. Just so it lasts longer on the store shelves. The taste is blan even thou it looks good.

Having a homestead gives a person the freedom to grow their own fresh food. Raising livestock for meat and eggs. Having a pond for fresh fish. Side benefits are other food sources that are not available in a supermarkets, like edible wild plants that can provide more nutrition then the best store bought.

Animals on a homestead are free of chemicals that can be passed onto humans, and that can never be good. Knowing what goes into your animals and soil will always give you the knowledge that your eating healthy.

Homesteading gives you the sense of accomplishment and satisfaction in the work you do to improve the homestead. To make homesteading easier or efficient. To give me the ability to get out of the debt market. To give me sustainable living. To give me self sufficiency that hardly anyone has today.

Homesteading is important to me because it is freedom to live.

I hunger for that freedom. I currently live in a small mid western town in Iowa. My property consists of a 75 foot x 175 foot lot, a few blocks from the town square. There is not much I can do here as far as homesteading goes. But anything that does not show up as a city ordnance can legally be done on my property, until my city council makes an ordnance forbidding it. I am currently looking for a 20 acre lot and someway to pay for it. I am also using this current property as a test bed so to speak, to challenge the system we have today that is trying to abolish our property rights.

Peace to all and have a great day!


my avatar image provided by http://www.clker.com/clipart-teal-bee.html

Steemit-woodworkers-carpenterbee-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-carpenterbee.png

my bee keeping & carpentry badge graphics provided by @daddykirbs

All Content on this blog is 100% @carpenterbee in thought and action


all non original content is linked to it’s source when it is used

@carpenterbee

Sort:  

You will find a lot. I know many succesful homesteaders in our area. It is an incredible amount of work but it can be done. Someone on Lasqueti Island ( highest IQ per capita in Canada, it is all off grid) said that it takes 3 days of the week working full time just to survive off grid or homesteading. It is more of a learning curve then anything else!! Get back to the land, back to nature. I love living in the mountains.

I have found one, a 60 acre plot for 45k in north western Arkansas mountains. But I do not believe I can raise that much cash in a short amount of time. At the moment all my funds are tied up in the current property. At least I do not have a mortgage. Lol If only I could find someone with acreage that would like to trade even swap. property for property. Also with 60 acres going for so little I am almost positive it is going to be landlocked or no water source on the property or both. Might also have a huge lean on the property which is something else to look for before a land purchase.

Wonderful article! You have been entered into the challenge - thank you!

Hey @carpenterbee, just wanted to congratulate you on your article for the Homesteading Challenge. I've just gotten around to reading it, but I'm following you, and look forward to the next ones.
Your tiny property in town sounds like an amazing adventure. The sheer size limit must be a huge challenge, plus the inevitable "what do the neighbors say". Do they get any sort of benefit from it? If they do, they should not really say anything bad... Still, moving on to the 20 acres will probably feel so liberating: so much space!

Thank you very much. Not so amazing when you have a system that says it has the authority to tell you what you can do with your bought and paid for property. So many so called laws today are just more nonsense then common sense. Neighbors complain that their property values are dropping because of what i do in my own yard. I tell them "well then buy my property and I'll move" then you can do what ever you want with it. Any fresh produce that we do not can or eat our selves goes to the neighbors. We started late this year in planting our garden. I was thinking about an aqua ponics system with vertical planters for this small space. I think it would be a much better solution to the property size limitation. Anyway experimentation first figure out what works then go from there. 20 acres would be a huge improvement.

That's so sad: the same people who benefit from your food complain that it drives prices down... even though if anything, a food producing system should add value to it (and not just yours, where the food grows, but each surrounding property, since the food is likely to end up there, by mere proximity. Anyway, they might complain today, but are probably gonna miss you once you move.
Are you still thinking about the aquaponics system? Would be exciting to see you build one (and post about it of course).

Yep still thinking about the aquaponics system and of course i'll blog about it :)

Those are all great reasons for homesteading, for sure! I bet you are growing a lot of food on a 75x175 lot, in Iowa. And it sounds like you know foraging, so you can eat pretty well, even just by letting your lot get a little wild, lol! Here's to you getting all your homesteading dreams!

Thank you .
Our current garden does not seem to be doing too good this year. I am not sure if its the heat or what. but we have harvested very little this year from it.
I know what to look for. but that knowledge currently extends to only a handful of plants. I am still learning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67851.31
ETH 3815.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77