homesteadphotography contest - Fish and Longhorns @ the WizStead - Post #21

It's been awhile since I went fishing and getting some pics for @knowledge-seeker's contest was the perfect excuse!

The Good

I caught 6 bass in about an hour.

As you can see, there was about 12 feet of moss out from the bank.
IMG_20180610_200258366.jpg

That's why it was a buzzbait evening...

IMG_20180610_194346587.jpg

IMG_20180610_200126333.jpg

IMG_20180610_201632829.jpg

The Bad

Not only did I lose a topwater frog

  • Holy Moly I just looked it up and those things run $9.69 now!!!

I was unable to entice any catfish to bite.
I tried some of this stink bait and worms...
IMG_20180610_202004342.jpg

The Ugly

The neighbors longhorns came to get a drink.
I say "the ugly" because the pic did not focus.... sorry...
IMG_20180610_202454482.jpg

About the contest

Weekly contest by @knowledge-seeker

If you have some pics of animals on the homestead, you might as well join the contest!

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

look.gif

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
veteran-60.jpg
Sort:  

Those are some really beautiful bass! If you can get your hands on one of those cows, then it is surf-n-turf- time! lol

haha I hear the longhorn is really lean beef!

Six bass in an hour sounds pretty good to me, but what do I know? Can you catch them faster?

At least it wasn't the $99 camera lure you lost.

Do you have any catch and release rules? Fish limits? I ask because Oregon has them, but some states don't. I'm guessing you have to get a fishing license to fish, too, right?

I won't need a fishing license until I turn 16.

  • Oh wait. I done did that. haha Yes, I have one...
    You have to have one even if you are fishing on a pond on your property.
  • Some places have size limits. They also set daily quantity limits.
  • haha that camera lure was the first thing that popped in my head as I saw mine go flying and the line floating down to the ground! haha
    The water wasn't that deep. I could have shed some clothes and gone after it... haha
  • The pond at the end of our lane use to be chuck full of small bass. You could catch one about every 3 or 4 casts regardless of what lure you used. It finally silted in over the years and they froze out...

Okay, so it sounds pretty similar to the laws we have here. Maybe it's universal now. I was kind of hoping some place was the last bastion of freedom when it came to fishing. It's dumb that you have to have a license to fish your own property, and I really think the fisherman should be able to decide what they want to hold onto and what they want to put back. Unless they've got the fish police hanging over their shoulder, how is any of this even enforceable? Fishermen ratting on fishermen?

Oh, well. I don't go very often (once every 10 years maybe), so what's it to me? Just another thing, along with hunting, that the state regulates because they want to control every aspect of life, so they charge people to do what they could do on their own.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 30.97% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

It looks like you had some luck with the fishing! There is nothing like spending a relaxing day out by the water with a fishing pole in hand. Great Job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01