AMY - Episode 2

in #hospital6 years ago

Amy couldn't believe what she was seeing. There was a little girl in front of her, no more than 3 or 4yrs. She had so many tubes running in and out of her, her face was severely bruised and her hair ran in all directions. The little girl still had her shoes on, and more than anything, that broke Amy's heart though she couldn't understand why.

'Oh my God!' Amy whispered the second time that night, even as she dove right in to "doctor duties"
'what happened to her, where's her folder?' she asked nurse Jane who was beginning to move away.
'A shelf of books fell on her. Here's her folder' She was already sounding a little impatient, and Amy tried to understand with her. There we only three ER nurses currently on duty, and the ER was really chaotic.

After a review of her patient's investigation results, and a brief physical examination, Amy concluded the little girl whose name was Sara needed surgery ASAP. She rushed down to where nurse Jane was examining a patient.
'Excuse me, who brought Sara to the hospital, I really need to speak with them'
'Her sitter brought her. you should find her outside, she's tall and dyes her hair red. you can't miss her. Oh! and she's crying her eyes out'
'Thanks!' Amy called out as she was already on her way to find the sitter.

'What kind of sitter would let a little child near a shelf of books!' She could feel anger begin to bubble inside of her, but she had to quench it before it got to the surface... Doctor-patient relationship was important to her, though most of her colleagues thought it was bull.
just as the nurse had said, she found the sitter easily. She was really tall, compared to Amy's 5'4, and was a little on the slender side. She looked 19 or 20, but Amy was sure she was older. When the perusal got to the red hair, Amy flinched visibly. It was hideous!!
laying all her bias aside, She walked up to the sitter with professionalism in her stride.

'Hello, I'm Dr Akpabio, Amy's doctor'
The sitter wiped snort from her nose with the hem of her tomboy shirt, and looked her up and down.
'I'm Aniekan. Is Amy going to be okay? I only left her for one minute before I heard the shelf fall. I never let her get into her father's study, I don't know how she got there. Oh God! her dad is going to kill me!' and with that, she broke down into more tears.

Amy felt a pang of guilt for judging the girl because of the color of her hair. This could have happened with anyone, even the little girl's parent. Aniekan seemed like a good sitter and she was really sorry about what happened.

'Aniekan, Sara needs surgery as soon as possible. Is her father on his way?'

'Surgery! dammit.. I have really messed this one up' she wiped more tears and snot from her face. 'Sara's father is always really busy, so I just leave him messages cause he rarely picks his calls. I have left him over 5 messages, but he hasn't called me back. I don't even know if I want him to call me back, I'm.. I'm so scared!' And she broke into another sobbing fit.

Time was flying by, and Sara needed the surgery yesterday. 'Where does he work, do you have his office number, maybe he'll pick up. This is an emergency!
Just as Amy's patience was about to run thin the phone in Aniekan's hand let out a loud shrill. The sitter suddenly froze making Amy to look her in the face.. She looked like she had just seen a ghost.
taking pity on her, Amy took the phone out of her hands, and summoning up the courage to deal with an 'about-to-panick' father, she answered the phone.

'Hello' the voice on the phone said. A deep, rich, very sexy voice, very intoxicating. A voice that sent chills down Amy's spine. A voice that made Amy want to go on her knees and obey his every command. Snapping out of her very unprofessional thoughts, she cleared her throat.
'Good morning Mr Johnson, I'm Dr Amy Akpabio. I'm so sorry, but your daughter had an accident and was brought to the emergency room'
Amy heard him inhale and exhale deeply, trying to control the rising panic.
'Go ahead Dr Akpabio' he said in a way that made her certain he had a large number of people under his control.
'Amy's accident is somewhat severe, you and your wife will need to come to the hospital. She needs surgery Mr Johnson, and she needs it now. Do I have your permission to proceed while you get here'
'I'm already on the move. Do whatever you can to save my girl!'
'Thank you' She said as she handed the phone to the still shaking sitter to give him the address of the hospital. Precious time had already been wasted.

...To be continued...
images(6).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61587.45
ETH 2890.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43