You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "How To" Post Titles

in #howto6 years ago

We can't go wrong by doing what Dale Carnegie teaches. Warren Buffet learns from him after all!

I never knew "HowTo" is a part of copywriting. In fact, up until today im still confused as to what copy writing actually is and what coy writers write about.. care to share?

Sort:  

Haha. Actually a copywriter's job is to make an article/post/ad interesting to the target audience. They don't necessary write. Usually the client will give them something that's already written, and it's their job to find a better way to communicate the content.

Ahh... Now I understand. The phrase "copywriting" itself has a very interesting etymology which is why I was confused at first.

Haha. Some people think copywriters will just copy and write. That's actually an article spinner - you give them a few keywords, maybe a few articles to "emulate", and they will create a few versions of the articles for you.

Owh so those are article spinners? there's even a name for it it haha seriously! Im very to the writing industry and there's obviously alot for me to learn and get my head around.

I was always under the impression that copywriting was sales writing. That's how I was trained, that's what I do.

Content is an entirely different beast, and I don't feel the two are compatible.

Hmph, my take is good copywriting improves the readability of any content. A copywriter is essentially a storyteller that takes an otherwise boring piece of info and make it into something engaging.

An example that comes to mind is the movie Inception. For years Discovery Channel and gang had been trying to explain dream psychology and the subconscious mind, and they only manage to educate a small group of enthusiasts. But when Christopher Nolan spun a suspenseful story with interesting characters and engaging plots, suddenly all the movie goers started understanding those deep concepts, and I'm willing to bet they would them research further on the two topics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68321.15
ETH 3140.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69